Pixel-Extender

Discussion in 'SmartAlec Lights' started by smartalec, Sep 25, 2016.

  1. smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    Just got around to finishing this off for christmas time

    Its the Ws281x Pixel-Extender,

    Now these distances have only been tested by me, (so they could be wrong an be higher)
    Cat5 Cable @ 205meters
    6 Core Alarm Cable @ 71meters

    this includes a transmitter an receiver (selectable by jumper header)
    The Kit $15
    Pre-Made $25 ($5 per board)

    [​IMG]

    http://www.smartaleclights.com/shop/
     
  2. livetoride

    livetoride Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Find Me On:
    They look great Alec, Not alot of soldering with the kits either? I might grab a few ill order them off your webpage today!
     
  3. OP
    OP
    smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    I want to get people back into soldering, an this project is only 25 solder joins per board, Perfect way
     
  4. gnarmstr

    gnarmstr Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Karalee
    Can these be used at any point in the universe. For example 50 pixels then this to extend and then more pixels.
    Also can they only be used with 5V pixels and if I need to use 12V pixels then have to run a separate 5V supply.

    Cheers
     
  5. bbayjohn

    bbayjohn Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Batemans Bay
    Find Me On:
    Was thinking how I need some pixel extenders. Are the only for 5v?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    In Therory yes, they could be used between elements..
    Be worth testing out,

    They are only 5v, But the world does'nt end
    Its Called a StepDown Converter ,
    now you can use 7.5v to 24v as you power in, an get 5v 2a out.

    i also have some smaller converters, but there not in the shop yet.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:

Share This Page