1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Pixels wrong colour

Discussion in 'Advatek Lights' started by GCAllan, Nov 11, 2016.

  1. GCAllan

    GCAllan New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Burleigh Waters
    Hi All


    I apologise for the long winded post but this one has absolutely done my head in and after a week trying to work it out I thought I would ask you good people for some advice.


    I am using a Pixlite 16 with both ws2811 nodes and strip connected. The strip is behaving very badly. When I use the test button on the pixlite the nodes do w-r-g-b the strips do w-g-b-r yet I have correctly set the rgb order on the pixlite to b-r-g (have attached). Strips are on pixlite outputs 4, 6, 12 and 14. Pixlite has latest firmware.


    Pixlite output channel configuration attached. For troubleshooting purposes the information below is aimed at output 4, universe 13 channel 421 onwards where I have the carport front lined with strip


    To prove to myself i'm not crazy I fired red then green then blue from da_e131 specifically at universe 13 channels 421 to 510 hey presto its right each time. I then fire w-r-g-b from Vixen directly at the carport lining strips, it works.


    What happens next is where I really want to cry or smash something is if I use da_e131 to fire from uni 10 to uni 17, nodes are correct, strips wrong. Same if I fire vixen at the house or everything level.


    Has anyone got a suggestion on what could be going wrong.


    Al
     

    Attached Files:

  2. scamper

    scamper Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    collie
    Find Me On:
    it can be frustrating at times, but try changing the channel count to 512 instead of 510.
    Someone that has used your setup may be able to offer a different answer, but it is worth a go.
     
  3. ltay13

    ltay13 Full Time Elf Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Melbourne
    Hi Allan,


    Something about that doesn't quite make sense but I can't put my finger on what exactly. Sounds frustrating!


    My first guess is the colour order on the strips is not actually BRG. If test mode doesn't show all your pixels changing to the same colour, then there is a problem with the colour order settings. The best thing to do is get test mode working in sync before you start controlling it with live data.


    I would reset your colour orders all to the standard RGB first, then turn test mode on RED. See which colour the pixels turn, and do the same for GREEN and BLUE tests. Double check what you think the colour order in the strips is and then change outputs 4, 6, 12 and 14 to use that colour order. Now when you activate test mode, all strips and nodes should change in sync.


    If you can't get this far with test mode, then we need to look more into that part before looking at controlling them with other software.
     
  4. ltay13

    ltay13 Full Time Elf Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Melbourne
    By the way, 510 channels per universe is correct for PixLite controllers (510 / 3 = 170 full pixels). We don't split a pixel across universes.
     
  5. scamper

    scamper Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    collie
    Find Me On:

    I understand and am aware of that, I just had a problem recently and cannot remember where the issue was.
    I think that you can set the outputs in vixen to a 510 count, you can also set them in the falcon f16 board in each output. I know I had to set the dmx outputs to 512 and the pixel outputs to 510.


    It was only a suggestion to try and eliminate another possible scenario. ???
     
  6. ltay13

    ltay13 Full Time Elf Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Melbourne
    Yes the channel count per universe thing can be confusing. E.G RGBW pixels use 512 channels not 510 channels per universe. Plus as you mentioned, some controllers don't follow that rule of enforcing a pixel to have all it's data come in a single packet, so it's different for various scenarios.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    GCAllan

    GCAllan New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Burleigh Waters
    Hi Luke and Scamper


    Thanks very much for your posts, did as suggested, set all outputs to order RGB, restarted the pixlite, then set 4, 6, 12 and 14 back to BGR and then 3 strips came back good. Found out on further investigation the 4th strip had a dodgy ground as it was doing flickering weird stuff, fixed that.


    I am now are happy camper in charge of some nice looking blinkys.


    Thanks for your help.


    Al
     
  8. scamper

    scamper Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    collie
    Find Me On:

    You are welcome, that is what this site is all about, helping each other.
    Now that you mention it, i had a problem a couple of years back where 2 of my dumb strips on the star on top of my mega tree would show up the wrong colour, turned out that the back of the strip was shorting out on the metal frame of the star and lighting up the wrong colours.
    anyway, good to hear you sorted it out.
     

Share This Page