Pixlite16 LR

Goliath

Full time elf
Just want to say what a bloody brilliant piece of hardware this is!

This is my first year with pixels, and I was fearful about buying multiple controller boards to distribute over various parts of the yard and roof. One Pixlite16 LR, and 8 remote boards ( I'll probably wind up only using 5, and none of those are maxed out) and the neighbours are reaching for their sunglasses :)

plasmadrive

Full time elf
I bought one.. tried it.. loved it.. bought 2 more. I have been using pixel extenders.. so this solves two issues at one time. Service from Luke is very good!

There are only two things I wish would change.. One is a software change to allow for the "test" mode to happen from the computer. I mount mine under the 2nd story eves so it is unusable for me.

The other is a cable limitation. If you use it in a condensed mode you need to supply a common V- connection between power supplies, if you use separate supplies for the main board and the lights. Not really sure what to do about it other than use shielded Cat 5 cable and connect the shield as V-. Other than that you can use a separate wire to connect them.. You don't always have to connect the V- from each supply together.. but you need to pay attention to RS485 wiring structure so you don't exceed the differential voltage from V- between supplies.

darylc

404 darylc not found
plasmadrive said:
The other is a cable limitation. If you use it in a condensed mode you need to supply a common V- connection between power supplies, if you use separate supplies for the main board and the lights. Not really sure what to do about it other than use shielded Cat 5 cable and connect the shield as V-. Other than that you can use a separate wire to connect them.. You don't always have to connect the V- from each supply together.. but you need to pay attention to RS485 wiring structure so you don't exceed the differential voltage from V- between supplies.