Pixlite16 LR

Discussion in 'Advatek Lights' started by Goliath, Nov 27, 2015.

  1. Goliath

    Goliath New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gracemere
    Just want to say what a bloody brilliant piece of hardware this is!

    This is my first year with pixels, and I was fearful about buying multiple controller boards to distribute over various parts of the yard and roof. One Pixlite16 LR, and 8 remote boards ( I'll probably wind up only using 5, and none of those are maxed out) and the neighbours are reaching for their sunglasses :)
     
  2. AndiK

    AndiK New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Nice... I'm looking for controllers so good messages are great to read... Thank you.
     
  3. plasmadrive

    plasmadrive Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    I bought one.. tried it.. loved it.. bought 2 more. I have been using pixel extenders.. so this solves two issues at one time. Service from Luke is very good!

    There are only two things I wish would change.. One is a software change to allow for the "test" mode to happen from the computer. I mount mine under the 2nd story eves so it is unusable for me.

    The other is a cable limitation. If you use it in a condensed mode you need to supply a common V- connection between power supplies, if you use separate supplies for the main board and the lights. Not really sure what to do about it other than use shielded Cat 5 cable and connect the shield as V-. Other than that you can use a separate wire to connect them.. You don't always have to connect the V- from each supply together.. but you need to pay attention to RS485 wiring structure so you don't exceed the differential voltage from V- between supplies.
     
  4. darylc

    darylc Full Time Elf Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    39
    My understanding is that you can get around this by using the isolated receivers.
    https://www.advateklights.com/shop/mantis-pixel-mapping/45-pixlite-long-range-isolated-receiver.html

    Daryl
     
  5. plasmadrive

    plasmadrive Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    OK.. those are new! That's great! Wish they had those when I bought mine.. but tech marches on as needed..
     
  6. BundyRoy

    BundyRoy Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    1
    I see the controller can handle 340 pixels/output. So does the one receiver handle 340 pixels as well or do you need multiple receivers per output. The other thing that was a little confusing on the website was can this controller handle multiple pixel types together. (eg ws2811 on one output and another type on the next output).
     
  7. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    The receiver has no "smarts" in it and it will receive however many channels are pumped at it.
    Unless there's been a change very recently all pixlites have the same pixel type on all outputs.
     
  8. darylc

    darylc Full Time Elf Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    39
    One receiver can do 2 outputs of 4 wire pixels, or 4 outputs of 3 wire pixels, So either 2x340 or 4 x 340 pixels per receiver.

    If you do 4 outputs then you can only use 4 receivers, not 8.
     

Share This Page