Plasma Icicles

Discussion in 'Lights - Store Bought and Home Made' started by plasmadrive, Oct 26, 2013.

  1. plasmadrive

    plasmadrive Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
  2. DanJ

    DanJ Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    My first year to synch and to go RGB, so I am starting somewhat small with six 60 pixel arches. I LOVE the effect you have done here; it is awesome!!!
     
  3. ShellNZ

    ShellNZ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Karaka, Auckland, NZ
    Find Me On:
    Tis eh, saw it over at LOR. Could be on my todo list for next year :)
     
  4. greg58

    greg58 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thornton
    Great job, Looks fantastic! Lot of work there. What voltage are you using?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    plasmadrive

    plasmadrive Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    Thanks.. I think I have only scratch the surface of what I can do with them. It just takes a long time to do intricate effects with 3500 channels.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    plasmadrive

    plasmadrive Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    Thank you! I am using 5v WS2812B strips. But.. I inject power every 30 pixels so my whites are really nice CW.
     
  7. DanJ

    DanJ Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Craig:
    Just saved your PDF. How did you setup the strings with numbers of pixels that are not all 0.5m/1m/etc? I thought you had to cut these at the "cut line", but perhaps that is not applicable for dumb strips??
    Thanks!!!
    DanJ
     
  8. OP
    OP
    plasmadrive

    plasmadrive Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    The cut line is after ever single pixel on the WS2812Bs, these are not the dumb strips. If you use the 12v version I think the cut line is every 3 LED that equals 1 pixel for control.
     
  9. pipersmall

    pipersmall Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:
    Great work. I can only imagine the hours that went into building that.
     
  10. ScottyJ

    ScottyJ New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Hey Craig which sequencer are you using?


    Scott
     
  11. OP
    OP
    plasmadrive

    plasmadrive Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    I am using LOR S3 plus Nutcracker. Overall effects like the fire and twinkle and so on I create in Nutcracker and export to LOR as a clipboard.

    The things like the eves acting like arches is all LOR.
     
  12. ScottyJ

    ScottyJ New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Thanks for the reply, and those are SWEET!!


    Scott
     
  13. OP
    OP
    plasmadrive

    plasmadrive Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    Thanks.. glad you like em
     
  14. Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    I may be having brain fade here but for digital pixel strips each pixel is sequencially numbered which means the data must go in one end and out the other but you dont appear to be doing it this way....What am I missing here?
     
  15. OP
    OP
    plasmadrive

    plasmadrive Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    Yes DI then pixels then DO, you are correct. What you are missing is the way I do it. Take a look at the pictures in the Dropbox. I think they are pics 1 and 2.
    There is a green wire running up the back side of the strip inside the sleeve. That green wire belongs to cable that is the "Goes Outta".
     

Share This Page