Playing audio through a BeagleBone Black

Discussion in '101 Display Basics' started by SantaClaws, Nov 2, 2017.

  1. SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Greetings,
    I have searched 'hi & lo' for a solution to the problem of playing audio when using FPP on a BBB.
    To date, there have been many varied answers.
    eg. Do I go for a USB audio adapter or extract audio from the HDMI (assuming it's not disabled)?
    I would like to know what solutions members have, satisfactorily, used.

    Thanks for any responses.
     
  2. MacArthur St Light Fusion

    MacArthur St Light Fusion Apprentice Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Moranbah
  3. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Thanks for the prompt response, MacArthur St Light Fusion.
    Did you get a driver disk with it?
    I will check it out.

    Regards,
     
  4. MacArthur St Light Fusion

    MacArthur St Light Fusion Apprentice Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Moranbah
    No disk required, the drivers that go with it are pretty generic... all that you will have to do is plug it all in, go into FPP settings on the BBB, and if it doesn't recognise the USB audio card, run the code that Captain was talking about in the SSH shell... I can post the link if you need it...
     
  5. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Hi MacArthur St Light Fusion,
    Well I got a USB audio adapter, it was sold as 'Linux compatible', plugged it into my BeagleBone Black with an audio-backed sequence running, but still did not get even a 'beep' out of my device.
    What was that about some required code from Captain you mentioned?
    When I went to Falcon settings on my BBB and selected audio device, it didn 't show up as being recognised.
    Regards,
    Santa Claws
     
  6. MacArthur St Light Fusion

    MacArthur St Light Fusion Apprentice Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Moranbah
  7. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Hi MacArthur St Light Fusion,
    Sorry for the delay in responding, been very busy.
    I had a look at the previous post regarding the code, but do not know how to input the code to my BBB.
    I am also very nervous about changing an already-running sequence in case I 'break' it (it's already happened twice when I tried to add further effects to the sequence).
     
  8. MacArthur St Light Fusion

    MacArthur St Light Fusion Apprentice Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Moranbah
    Hi mate,
    Might be worth jumping into chat this afternoon if you are available? I'll be busy most of today, but can jump in this afternoon/night and get a few more details if you like?
     

Share This Page