Police??

Callaidyn

New elf
Hi Everyone!
As some of you know it is my first year automating to music (only ever having played music in the background) and I've hit my first real snag (and it's not electronics/electricity related)! I have a grinch in the neighbourhood that only moved in six months ago so has never seen my lights before! The first night I went live (last Wednesday) he put the sprinklers on me. He came over knocking two nights in a row asking me to turn the lights off. He complained to the council and they sent someone around who deemed the lights not to be offensive and as I turn them off at 10pm every night said I was well within my legal rights. My problem is not the noise from my speakers - it's people pulling up and turning the radio up loudly. Tonight the police visited me just before 10pm and said that they can take away my speakers, amplifier, computer and transmitter if they get another complaint from my "friendly" neighbour. I'm not sure of my rights or what I should do - any advice? I haven't even managed to take a video yet and it looks like I will be effectively shut down from tomorrow night :-( Help??

Benslights

Dedicated elf
Callaidyn

if I was you I would speak to the police in the morning and ask them if that is right? it does not sound right.

if it was me I would just not use outside speakers and just use your fm transmitter. then how can they stop you it is the people in the cars that are controlling the music. and if they do get a bit loud you can always turn off the transmitter till they leave.

ecbailey

Full time elf
I'd suggest they can't seize your property on the grounds of a noise complaint.... I mean if the issue is car radios being too loud it's not your fault... they could turn on any station!

I think police are trying to scare you to avoid properly dealing with whining neighbour?

SmartAlecLights

Im a SmartAlec what can i say!
Community project designer