Random Flashing on Unuses/Off Strips

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by tbateson, Aug 26, 2015.

  1. tbateson

    tbateson New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm testing a new AlphaPix 16 – E1.31 along with Smart Pixel RGB LED - 30 LEDs/m 10 Pixels – 12v strips

    Problem: Pixels on other universes are randomly flashing, even when are not programmed. Also, when NO sequences running and all of the software is turned off they are still randomly flashing. Any thoughts?

    I have these on a dedicated network using a separate nic card.
     
  2. ShellNZ

    ShellNZ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Karaka, Auckland, NZ
    Find Me On:
    Could be lack of power (do you have enough power to run all those pixels)

    Could be the network cable (try using another cable).

    Could be the distance from controller to the offending pixels.

    Could be (but not likely) interference.
     
  3. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    I would hope that it's not the case but it could be a code bug as the alphapix is a cheap chinese knockoff of the Pixlite 16.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    tbateson

    tbateson New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the controller next to the computer - short run there. The strips are connect directly to the controller's pigtails - short run there too.
    A couple days ago I did test one strip for distance and was able to reach 40' (12.2m) on these HolidayCoro cables before any issues, so I think we can rule them out at 2' (.6m). I didn't notice any randomness at that time, but I was more looking at the light quality and distance.
     
  5. jerrymac

    jerrymac Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quitman GA
    Find Me On:
    Go to the LOR board. There is a lengthily discussion re: this David at Holiday Coro is working on a resolution.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    tbateson

    tbateson New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you post a link to it? As I cannot find that discussion.
     
  7. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    6
  8. OP
    OP
    tbateson

    tbateson New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the link.

    From that forum, it seems HolidayCoro is working for a Firmware fix. However it only occurs while the LOR Listener is running, so it makes one wonder where the problem is being caused.
     

Share This Page