1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Ray Wu pixel tester

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by BundyRoy, Oct 11, 2014.

  1. BundyRoy

    BundyRoy Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    1
    I ordered one of these from Ray.

    http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/DC12V-input-WS2811-LED-smart-pixel-controller-for-testing-max-100pixels-controlled/701799_652082488.html

    The one I have doesn't have a 12V+ on the downstream side to connect to the strip. I figure it is okay if I just run a new +ve from the same power source to the strip and bypass the controller thing. Is this alright.

    On mine there is only the blue (DI) and back (GND) wires coming from the controller.

    It still says ws2811 on the controller but there is only 2 connections in the plug at the end which seems odd. You would think that should trigger off an alarm that it is not right.
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    If you measure between the two black wires on your multimeter (on resistance) it should read very low (less than 1 Ohm).

    Assuming it does, you would parallel the power to the strip and input to the controller and connect the blue wire to the pixel data in.

    You can either leave the "output" black wire unconnected or join to input black wire.
     
  3. jcmarksafb

    jcmarksafb Hello from Christopher Creek Arizona

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christopher Creek Arizona
    I have a bunch of these, black = Gnd, blue = data and then wire v+ to the v+ of your psu.
    John
     
  4. OP
    OP
    BundyRoy

    BundyRoy Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks David, will check.

    Slightly different topic but I just got out the ws2811 strip. It has 4 tabs at the end of each pixel. They are VCC, 2xGND and a DI. The way Ray has I wired one of the grounds goes to the controller and the other ground goes to the powers source. I gather both of the grounds are linked and effectively he could have soldered the two ground wires to the one tab on the strip and it would of been the same.
     
  5. jcmarksafb

    jcmarksafb Hello from Christopher Creek Arizona

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christopher Creek Arizona
    Have a bunch of these too, both black wires can be tied together if you want. Ray used to put 2 gnd wires on the 3 strip ones but just started doing it this way recently.
     
  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    The reason there is 2 black ground wires is for power injection purposes, one wire connects to the next ground wire of the string/strip and the other connects to the ground of the incoming injected power.
    You dont connect the +V between the 2 unless you are using the same power supply and the data just connects to the next string/light, so that is the reason you will see 2 ground wires
     

Share This Page