1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Ray's flood lights

Discussion in 'DMX, E1.31 & Networking' started by David_K, Dec 14, 2017.

  1. David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi everyone.
    Firstly Merry Christmas and a happy New Year to all.


    I have a problem with the
    10W RGB LED flood light DC12V input with 4 wire that we bought from Ray Wu.
    We want to use them in our xlights sequence but we are unable to get them do anything with the test through Advatek assistant or through the test in xlights.
    The contollers we have are a PixLite 16 MkII Pixel Controller and PixLite 16 MkII ECO Pixel Controller


    Is it possible to use these flood with these pixlite controllers?
    If so any help would be really appreciated to get them going.
    This is the link to the floods we bought from Ray:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...497.html?spm=2114.12010612.0.0.2d5a06d2PV5Ezm
    Thanks
    Dave & Julie
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass! Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,600
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    The should work with any DMX output. Do they stay dark or cycle through colours by themselves?
     
  3. videoman3857

    videoman3857 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Glass House Mountains
    Hmmmm. I am not up on the Pixilite controllers, but I do believe they are digital out put. -
    you say the light it has 4 wires - I am assuming this would be a dumb RGB Flood and would need voltage output only from the board to make the lights turn on and off
    it does not have the ws2811 or whatever chip inside to make it communicate with a digital controller.

    I think you needed this type of flood light
    Don't take me as gospel as I am only new at this......
     
  4. cdbrown

    cdbrown New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth
    Not with those controllers, you need a DMX controller like this http://www.hansonelectronics.com.au/product/dmx18/ . Your controller can control some DMX universes through the outputs near the ethernet jacks, but can't directly wire those lights to the pixlite.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you so much everyone!
    flood lights are out this year lol
     
  6. foodi

    foodi New Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    maryborough victoria
    Find Me On:
    ray sells a 6 /12/ 27ch dmx control board i use them of them for my white flood
     
  7. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks i will have a look
     
  8. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass! Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,600
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    My mistake. I should have checked the link. Didn't realise they were dumb LED floods.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    no problem :)
     
  10. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    We have this old DMX controller, we plugged it into the dongle and flicked the white switch from 1 to 10 and it cycled through the colours
    Since its been quite a few years since we used this controller I am at a loss to how to set it up
    Will this DMX controller work with xlights and pixlite controllers
    Sorry for the dumb questions
    Julie
     

    Attached Files:

  11. cdbrown

    cdbrown New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth
    pop onto chat if you can
     
  12. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have attached a picture of the dmx controller if anyone maybe able to help
     
  13. cdbrown

    cdbrown New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth
    That's the type of controller you need. Those white switches - dip switches - will set the universe and start channel for the DMX universe. If using the dongle (I guess it's a usb type dongle) I think in xlights in the setup you need to Add USB for a DMX dongle. Pg 46 of the xlights manual discusses setting up DMX models
     
  14. lithgowlights

    lithgowlights Senior Elf

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Lithgow, NSW
    Find Me On:
    I run 10 of those 27 channel DMX controllers via xLights no problems, along with a further 35 3 channel DMX boards. Setting the DMX address is simple once you understand how, and there are even apps for your smartphones/tablets to help you set the switches for the channels you want
     
  15. OP
    OP
    David_K

    David_K Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi cdbrown and Lithgowlights,

    Thankyou for the info cdbrown :D

    oh that's great news!
    Can you help me setup with xLights please lithgowlights, I have added the dmx to the layout and added the DMX to the sequence but after that I am at a loss.
    when putting the "output to lights" button on in xlights I also get a com1 error.
    I will attach some screen shots too
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page