Ready to step up light game... Need help!!!

Jon Haack

New elf
G'Day guys,
First time posting on here. Im from Queensland near the Sunshine Coast. Ive been putting up lights for Christmas for a few years and was hooked from the first time I did it. Ive only done small static displays on our home. this year I'm so keen to step up the light game with pixels and controllers with software.

The problem is that I have zero knowledge on how to go about it or even what to buy and how to setup the software to make an impressive show.

Is there anyone on here that could help me on where to start?

Troy ELD

Full time elf
Community project designer
Welcome!

Unfortunately with limited knowledge and hardware, You'll be struggling to get a show together for this year. Download the 101 manual and start reading, reading and reading! Get into chat and ask as many questions as you'd like, Someone will always answer.

djgra79

My name is Graham & I love flashing lights!
Global moderator
Generous elf
Welcome to ACL! It can be a steep learning curve starting out, and as mentioned above potentially missed the boat for a controlled display this year. That said if you have an idea of what you want, there's nothing stopping you starting to buy the gear required and having a play, you may still get something going. Just dont go rushing out and buying the first things you see until you are really sure on what you are trying to achieve. We're all here to help, we've all been new at some stage!

OzAz

Senior elf
Global moderator
Welcome to ACL
Get yourself over to xLights download the latest Beta version (don't forget the Vamp plugin and C++ (if needed)) and then have a look at the many videos on how to use it. Keith has recently posted a new how to video that will help get you started.
There's always the option of controlling some of your existing lights.

Boof63

Senior elf