1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

RGB Floods from Ray

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by BoonDogs, Feb 8, 2016.

  1. BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    Hey guys, just curious which RGB floods you use from Ray? I found this link here but I wasn't sure if it was the right one. I'm assuming a DC controller and single PSU should be enough to run 9 of these.

    http://m.aliexpress.com/item/2037336497.html

    Cheers
     
  2. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
  3. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    Okay thanks. I'm assuming you run XLR cable to the floods? Or do you cut the plug off and soulder cat 5 do the cable?
     
  4. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    I am running XLR for the 240v ones as they are only out for one night at Halloween.
    The 10w one I have changed to rays 3 pin plugs
     
  5. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    I would seem easy enough to cut the XLR plugs off and solder cat 5 on instead of buying any plugs.

    I won't worry too much as I can't put these in my display this year anyway. Thanks a lot
     
  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    You can buy the XLR plugs from ray as well if you need

    http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/XRL-DMX-connector-male-and-female/701799_469534646.html
     
  7. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    XLR cable is quite expensive from memory? I haven't been in the stage lighting industry for a year or so, but last time I purchased it, it wasn't cheap for a longer run
     
  8. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    You can just use CAT5/6, that's all ive ever used, you can also easily make an RJ45 to XLR converter cable this way.
    Its all the same data anyway
     

Share This Page