saying Hi and introducing myself

rfostrow

New elf
Hello all,

My experience so far...
I have been doing a slowly expanding Christmas show for the past 5 years (skipped last year though as I moved homes). All done with Renard controllers and SSRez (110V AC). This year I used 184 circuits with all incandescent lights - mostly mini lights and C9 lights. All done with 3 interwoven strands of RED, GRN and WHT. I have been using Vixen 2 software as I understand it, and find it highly flexible (although time consuming). I have, but did not use, an additional 128 circuits of Renard controllers and SSRez.

You may view a sample song from my show 2 years ago here :> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3j2sSY4Iqs

What I want this year:
1st - I want to learn about LED Megatrees - and likely will spend this year converting to one. I am not sure that i need to go to individual pixel controls, but I do want to have full color capability.

2nd - I may decide to write my own controlling software (along with my son who does open source stuff regularly), but I would rather fine existing software that meets my needs.

And a bit about me:
Almost 59 years old, heavily motivated with family, work and Boy Scouts.
Family - married 40 years, 3 sons (all grown and on their own), 2 grandchildren (hoping for more).
Work - I am a self trained hardware/firmware/software designer, but have spent the past 10 years as project management rather than design.
Boy Scouts - Formed a charity and charter Boy Scout troops - this is a big deal for me. Was a Scoutmaster for 12 years, but retired from that.

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Welcome to ACL.
Re-inventing the wheel probably isn't necessary. Vixen 3 and Xlight 4 are 2 excellent sequencers that are both open source if you wanted to customise them. With only 1 years development Xlights 4 is now the sequencer that leads the pack imho. It does things that you couldn't even dream of with Vixen 2 at a speed that is amazing.