Starting 2023 Hopefully - Perth

someoneAUS

Apprentice elf
Generous elf
Hey all.

Complete newbie here. Been lurking the forums for nearly 10 years tho I see... Have a couple of the Bunnings strings up at home but went on a night time adventure with our 3 year old this year looking at lights and the Mrs has approved me improving our lights next year.

I have done a bit of reading so far. Made my way through the 101 guide. Although some of the info seems to be getting old I hope it got me the basics down. Downloaded xLights and had a bit of a play... I can see this taking WAYYY too much of my free time. xDxLights_Mh9qXkMrVP.png

The Mrs and I both like the look of arches. So I think lighting across the eaves and arches will be the first two projects. I have a few ESP32s laying around from building my retic controller and home temp monitoring so WLED on one or two of those as a controller looks to be the cheapest way to start in terms of controllers.

Software and programming is the easy bit for me I guess. building the actual blinkies is where I feel I might start to get a little lost.

Strips in airseeder tube seems to create the nicest effect for the arches but I have questions around LED density. 30/m vs 60/m for arches/eaves?

This thread makes me think that GS8208 is probably the way to go in terms of LEDS I'm thinking strips for both the arches and eaves and probably mounting the eaves in diffused aluminium channel and leaving up all year round.

If anyone has any tips/tricks for me on getting started I am all ears or if there are any locals in Perth I figure now is the best time of year for me to come have a squiz at how things are done.

thewanderingpine

Full time elf
Welcome to ACL. I know @paullyxmas76 is in Perth and has a pretty impressive display from the pictures I've seen. (He also sells a bunch of the gear you are likely to need (pixels/PSUs/etc) -- and given how fast shipping is to the East coast -- you should get anything pretty damn quick.