1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Technicolor quality?

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by jediknight2, Nov 9, 2013.

  1. jediknight2

    jediknight2 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Just wondering what everyone is seeing on these pixels right now?
     
  2. nutz4lights

    nutz4lights Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    I had ordered one string to see if I liked it... when I tried to hook it up, which I did so according to the diagram on Ray's site, nothing happened, maybe the first light went white... I ended up cutting off the first pixel and hook up to the wires leading to pixel 2 and the whole string lit... I then went back and snipped the incoming connector off and connected to pixel 1's wire directly and it worked... that led me to believe that something was wrong with the connector... I never proved that out either way. I then put the string of 48 up on my gutter outside (attached to a 10' length of PVC with zip ties) and had a pretty good amount of intermittent working and not working over the next few weeks... I moved that PVC pipe up to one of my ridges on my roof to test out a ridge mounting strategy and it the string started working perfectly and still is... very weird...

    Even with that, I still went ahead and ordered 20 more strings to do my entire roof with 'em... I only needed 17 or 18 strings, so I have 2-3 extra... I will be curious to see if I got a bad string of if issues persist. Ray was supposed to send me a replacement string, which he hasn't... but then again, he hasn't sent my 150 string order yet either... looks like I better plan on using a good amount of vacation time in December!
     
  3. OP
    OP
    jediknight2

    jediknight2 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Hmmm that goes along with what happened to a friend of mine. It was either the connector or first pixel. There might be an issue with the pigtail manufacturer because I had a white 4 core one go out on me from the batch I bought this year. .. spent an hour cutting and soldering 2801 pixels. . just happened to grab the pigtail and poof. . everything came on.
     
  4. DeeJai

    DeeJai Is that Magic Smoke?!?

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    No longer in Radelaide
    i LOL'd, cause i have done the same previously

    now when ever i have any issue with my strips or modules, the first thing i do is apply pressure to the pigtail.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    jediknight2

    jediknight2 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    So far I can say this...with my J1SYS ECG-P2 I have had some issues with the technicolor. Theres a sweet spot on refresh rate..outside of that the lights act funny, lock up on white, etc. I hooked that same string up to my E6804...no problem, no lockup of the pixels.
     
  6. chicken

    chicken Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA
    I hope all my strands work ok. Ordered 2,500 technicolor pixels on custom spaced strands that just shipped out a few hours ago :( Talk about cutting it close.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    jediknight2

    jediknight2 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Be prepared to inject at the end of EVERY string!
     
  8. viennaxmas

    viennaxmas New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you provide some more details on the refresh rate? My technicolor a will arrive today ready to be hooked up to a J1sys so any "good setting" advice would be appreciated.
     
  9. Archades

    Archades New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Far North Queensland
    Just got 400 nodes, are you injecting every 50 or 100 pixels?
     
  10. danozfw

    danozfw New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0

    I'm running Technicolor Pixels on P2 and P12S controllers at 3200 Kbps and I'm not having any problems at all. I got that number form the UBL Procedures Document included with the 3.2 Firmware Update.
     

Share This Page