1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Termination Jumpers for Ray 27's

Discussion in 'DMX, E1.31 & Networking' started by Porsche, May 4, 2013.

  1. Porsche

    Porsche Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Piara Waters
    Hi all, Just need some advice on if and where I should install "term" jumpers.
    This is my current set up from my ECG D4
    Slave 1 out to DC48
    Slave 2 out to 4 x ray 27's all Daisy Chained
    Slave 3 - Out to 4 x ray 27's all daisy Chained
    all running from the same universe.
    Just not sure if I have to "term" at end of the Dc48 and then on the 4th ray of Slave 2 & 3.
    Or do you only just terminate the last controller in the universe in general. so in my case the last ray 27 on Slave 3.
    If anyone has a pic of how to make a term jumper for the ray or advice on how to do one., That'd be great.
    Cheers
    Phil
     
  2. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    The termination should be at the end of the wiring run. In many cases you can get away with not having any termination but if you are running hundreds of metres of wire from the D4 to the last controller on a run then it is a must. The Ray Wu boards don't have a jumper to install so you'll have to get creative.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Porsche

    Porsche Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Piara Waters
    Thanks Alan, I think the lonest run I have from the D4 is 17m. Do you think that would require a termination?
    How will I know if it needs terminating or not. Will I get wrong signals or just not work?
     
  4. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    I forgot to terminate my dmx line at the start of last years show and the run was probably 250m. I often test here and have 10m of cat5 and don't have any issues. What happens will be some lost signals due to the signal reflecting at the end of the line. There wouldn't really be any way to predict what would happen other than you may get intermittent packet loss.
    Suck it and see is about the best I could suggest if you don't want to buy a couple of 4c resistors.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Porsche

    Porsche Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Piara Waters
    Yeah I'll have a crack and see if I run into any dramas with it. I did find a nice diagram on here last night showing how to make them up. Seems fairly straight forward.
    Thanks Alan
     
  6. lithgowlights

    lithgowlights Senior Elf

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Lithgow, NSW
    Find Me On:
    I ran 4 strings of DMX, with the longest from splitter to end close to 100m, and I forgot the terminator... No dramas here, although when I found it missing I added the terminator.

    Here every box/board/light etc has an in & out, so my terminator is simply a plug and resistor that can plug into any end device on a string.
     
  7. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,497
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I didnt use terminators on a few of the Ray boards at the end of the DMX run, I was prepared to fit them if i needed, which i didnt.

    All i was going to do was use an XLR plug and solder on a 120 ohm termination resistor
     
  8. drakky

    drakky Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    14
    I can't seem to find the diagram to make an RJ45 terminator but I am assuming it's just 120 ohm resistor across pins 1 & 2 ?
     
  9. djgra79

    djgra79 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Cranbourne West
    Find Me On:
  10. drakky

    drakky Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    14
  11. djgra79

    djgra79 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Cranbourne West
    Find Me On:
  12. drakky

    drakky Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    14
    maybe the table on there says
    Signal RJ45 XLR
    ESTA
    LOR Renard 3 Pin 5 Pin
    Data + 1 4 5 3 3
    Data - 2 5 4 2 2
    Data Common 7 6 1+2 1 1

    so 3 & 2 on xlr = 1 & 2 on RJ45 presuming ESTA is the correct cabling , thanks Graham
     

Share This Page