1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Testing Hardware in LSP

Discussion in 'LightShow Pro (LSP)' started by Porsche, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. Porsche

    Porsche Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Piara Waters
    Can anyone tell me when I run a test through lsp the colours are all around the wrong way (P2 running 2811 strips) Its obvioulsy something Ive done wrong.
    See attached. when I put the red test on I end up with Blue lights, then green test with red lights and so on.
    Ive taken a few screens shots and photos of the lights. what the hell have I done???
    Never the less, Im pretty stoked I actually managed to set the hardware up into LSP and got it to work for the first time. BREAK THROUGH...
    Cheers
    Phil
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    Not always user fault with this one, cabn be how the lights were made.2 ways to fix it, one through the controller the other in LSP
    In LSP right click on the controller and go into configure controller
    Click on the channels tab and the click the renumber/prefix channels button
    select the arrangement that suits your pixels and click ok, should then be good to go
    The other way is to go into the controller and modify the string effects the same way, so if you are using a J1Sys product go into Effect config and select the RGB arrangement that matches what you need
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Porsche

    Porsche Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Piara Waters
    Cool, thanks. At last it wasnt me who stuffed it up...
    I'll change them around as you advised.
    thanks again.
     
  4. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    You can also change the RGB orientation in the ECG and Sandevices E1.31 controllers and I find that this is the best method as its not dependant on your software.

    See most RGB lights do not actually get sold as RGB and as such need to have the RGB orientation changed and this is easily done either at the hardware level in the controller settings or can be done with most software packages easily enough. But its very common for this to be done.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Porsche

    Porsche Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Piara Waters
    I had a go at changing string effects in the ECG to show RGB-RGB. Unless Ive missed something in the effects tab. Ive attached a screen shot.
    I ran a test through Da E1.31 and still getting channel 1 as Blue 2 as Red 3 as Green.
    Is there something Ive missed here??
     

    Attached Files:

  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Thats because you have not set anything on, have not allocated any pixels and have not changed the RGB orientation, it appears that you havent set anything up here so it will not do anything

    You need to
    1: Select the Act box for #01A or what ever output you are wanting to do so output 2 would be #02A and so on, dont worry about using #01B, ect as these are for additional effects
    2: Set start pixel to 1
    3: Set pixel count to the number of pixels you want to change the RGB orientation
    4: Select the RGB Conv to be RGB - what ever is your lights (RGB to RGB means nothing changes)
    then save and reboot and your done
     
  7. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    Hey Phil
    Looking at your tests, it seems as though your strips are BRG.

    To configure the P2 to fix this up, you'll want to check the "Act" box next to #01A, start pixel probably 1, and end pixel the number of pixels in the string. Then, under RGB Conv, you'll need to choose "RGB -> BGR" (or is it "BGR -> RGB" ? )

    Then, save it, ensure you reboot the P2, and try again

    Cheers

    Kane
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Porsche

    Porsche Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Piara Waters
    thanks guys, all good. In the right order now RGB.
    Cheers
     

Share This Page