1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

testing new lights

Discussion in '101 Display Basics' started by Heath-LightsOnTapley, Sep 22, 2015.

  1. Heath-LightsOnTapley

    Heath-LightsOnTapley Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    sheidow park
  2. bjpc2716

    bjpc2716 who dares win

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    melbourne
    Find Me On:
    8) use avd test software
     
  3. Habbosrus

    Habbosrus Back again

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Swansea, NSW
    Find Me On:
  4. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    219
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Those little $3 testers are brilliant for testing lights. Unfortunately some only have 2 wires out. If they are only 2 wire out then theoretically the wires should be 0V and data and the power to run the pixels will have to be supplied "around" the tester.
     
  5. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    21
    You can't use test software unless you have an E1.31 pixel controller. These are not from Ray but you'll need one for your display.

    Just plug a string/strip into the pixel tester (first) and then apply 12V to the tester (second). There will be a limit to how many strings/strips you can run end-to-end in this configuration due to voltage drop but it'll confirm that they work.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Heath-LightsOnTapley

    Heath-LightsOnTapley Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    sheidow park
    i have a pixlite 16, is that what you mean? cheers
     
  7. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yes that's what I mean and it's worth testing that with the test software especially if you can't get it working with your sequencer.

    I still suggest trying the pixels with the little pixel tester to make sure the lights work first.
     
  8. Habbosrus

    Habbosrus Back again

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Swansea, NSW
    Find Me On:
    The Pixlite will do the job nicely. You can hook up your lights to the Pixlite 16 and use da e131 to test. The test function in Xlights/NC is pretty good too, but da e131 is easiest and a great piece of kit.

    The little tester is the easiest, just supply power to v+ & v- & connect the other end to your strips/strings (one strip/string at a time though). Hit the button and away you go.

    Hooking up to the Pixlite will give you many more options and you can test each individual led with David's software
     
  9. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    The pixlite 16 also has a hardware test where you just press a button for 3 secs.
    Make sure u upgrade to the latest firmware and use the latest manual which explains which button .. I can't recall.
     
  10. Benslights

    Benslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    I always use 3 things to test

    da e1.31
    test software on board
    then the software I am using for my display
     

Share This Page