Time frame

Brett82

New elf
Hi all. I have run a standard display for years and have decided that after a few years of umming and aaarghing that this is the year for a computer display. I've read the 101 manual a couple of times, browsed through the forums and watched conversations in chat and I think I'm starting to get an idea of what's what. I'm not going the RGB route, I'm sticking with the traditional fairy lights. Just a personal preference. In addition to the lights already on the house and driveway, I'd love to do a mega tree and, if time permits, some leaping arches. My plan was to get to the Sydney mini at the start of June and get advice and ideas before I started. But after reading some posts, I don't know if I'm leaving it a bit late. I'm a builder and like most other guys in the trade I usually work 5 1/2, 6 days a week. Am I leaving it a bit late to get it done? I haven't bought any controllers, or software yet as I was waiting till after the mini.
Sorry for being long winded, but any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Brett

Richie4540

Full time elf
Brett, welcome to the fun, I would recommend you attend the mini in Sydney before buying anything, as this will help guide your decisions, personnally I think if you are starting out you should head towards pixels as it just give you so much flexibility later, and don't try to do your whole house in the first year, just stick with a mega tree or a single feature, this will allow you to get it done in time this year and then you can build up in the following years.

For a system you will need

Power supply - 12 volt 600 watt should get you started

Rasbrry Pi with Falcon Pi Player installed- this will run the show, this is probably the cheapest thing in a system and takes a bit to set up, you could get this know and start trying to set it up and when you go to the Sydney mini take some questions along if you are having issues,