1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Trying to get an NDB up

Discussion in 'LightShow Pro (LSP)' started by arw01, Oct 22, 2014.

  1. arw01

    arw01 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    Got an NDB controller in today, my first one. From Eddy's manual, I see it's supposed to be 10.0.0.100, but I get nothing.


    Changed the IP on the PC to 10.0.0.5 per the manual, still nothing. All my other network I am on 192.168.1.#.


    I tried the reset, still no difference.


    I have activity on the internet jack, but no green light (only amber) flashing but I am on a gigbit network.


    Thoughts? Hints?


    Why they use 10.0.0 unlike everyone else that is 192.168...
     
  2. mborg10

    mborg10 Michael Borg

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    claremont meadows
    I'm no network expert but our IT department told me IP starting with 192. Is what is used for private networks whereas others are public. I think this was done so we don't run out of Internet IPs
     
  3. franky_888

    franky_888 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medowie
    10.0.0.0 with a 255.0.0.0 subnet mask is still a private address (like 192.168.0.0 with a 255.255.0.0 subnet or any variant).


    Just had a look at the doco myself and the only thing I can suggest is to ensure you've set the subnet mask of your computer correctly (255.255.255.0), and possibly change the ethernet cable to the NDB.
     
  4. kenlmcse

    kenlmcse Lightshowpro Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gilbertsville, PA
    Find Me On:
    I assume you are reading this: http://www.minleon.com.au/Minleon%20NDB%20Manual%20AUS%20-%20JAN%202004%2025th.pdf

    Shut off all the other network adapters on your computer.

    Set your computer's NIC to 10.0.0.10, the subnet mask needs to be 255.255.255.0 and the gateway needs to be 10.0.0.1

    For the record, as long as you set the subnet mask to 255.255.255.0 you an use any IP address on the 10.0.0.x network BUT 10.0.0.100 because that address is being used.

    After shutting down all other NIC's (wireless) on your computer, open a command prompt and type

    ping 10.0.0.100

    You should get a reply from the NDB controller. If you do not, take the gateway out of the IP4 settings on your NIC and try the ping again.

    What I think is happening is your PC is trying to go to 10.0.0.100 through the wrong gateway. It is possible your cable modem and/or router has the 10.0.0.x network in it's routing path. This info gets forwarded to your computer so routing works. What you are doing is changing that routing to your NDB...

    Once you can ping the device you are good to go. You might even be able to re-enable your other NIC's
     
  5. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    The home network and the controller both need to be on 192.168 or 10.0 for them to talk to each other.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    arw01

    arw01 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    The real problem turned out to be the poor little beastie probably had a static jolt in shipping and needed the pic flashed.


    once that was done, and the computers reset to put the nics at 10.0.0.5 I was able to bring up the config dialog.


    I've reset to an ip address on my normal home network and am off to have it run some tests on lights.


    I do wish it had a sexier test sequence than white, blah.
     

Share This Page