1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Unicast or Multicast

Discussion in 'DMX, E1.31 & Networking' started by rvenegas, Feb 12, 2016.

  1. rvenegas

    rvenegas Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valencia
    Find Me On:
    Hello, since i am dedicating a lot of time reading some good "literature" regarding E1.31 at this point some doubts are coming to me. I have two P12r and i'm planning to buy two Alphapix 4, all of them running around 7000 Channels. Should i use Multicast or Unicast?
     
  2. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I would just use multicast as its a lot less effort to setup, only if you see issues then I would use unicast. 7000 channels for e1.31 is not really a lot of channel, so I doubt you would see any issues with controllers being overloaded with network traffic
     
  3. multicast

    multicast Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    7
    "Controllers" send Data in E1.31, "Devices" receive them.


    A Controller is unlikely to over-run itself.
     
  4. multicast

    multicast Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    7

    Multicast is by far the best way to run things if you can. Ideally you'll have an ethernet switch that is multicast aware. Normally in the documentation it will say things like "IGMP-snooping"
     
  5. OP
    OP
    rvenegas

    rvenegas Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valencia
    Find Me On:

    Good to know, my first display two years ago was configured in Multicast (last year i did not run any display outside of home). Now, this year i'm starting reading and i found some document regarding E1.31. After reading i was confused thinking maybe it was a mistake running using Multicast. Now this is clear and i will keep using it.
    This year i will use an spare switch TP-LINK Gigabit 24 ports, i think it is good enough.
     
  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I think most people know them as controllers because they control their lights and its in a language that most DIYers will understand. Not sure why it was so important for you to point that out as it makes no difference to the average DIYer even though you are technically correct.
     
  7. MikeKrebs

    MikeKrebs New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the alphapix is unicast only. If you want to do multicast, you will have to pick different device. It is not a high concern for me (I ran three alphapix this past season), just something to know.
     
  8. Phrog30

    Phrog30 New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    I've heard the same thing. I see it on the to do list, but I don't think it's been resolved.

    James
     
  9. Phrog30

    Phrog30 New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    My opinion, if you like the alphapix 4, just get the PixLite 4. They are proven, well over the alphapix.

    James
     
  10. multicast

    multicast Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    7

    In deed. Or a Falcon. its good to support people who actually developed their products....
     
  11. bluzervic

    bluzervic 65,768 Channels, 185 Universes

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Fremont, Calif.
    Find Me On:
    Choose controllers based on props, so you can move things around if need be and size them based on number of pixels.


    I use pixlite 4's, 16's and have a Falcon for my future matrix.


    As far as Unicast VS Multicast. I use Unicast, it is easy enough to manage. You will have less Broadcast traffic with unicast.


    Think of it as one to one Versus one to many


    -Blu
     
  12. multicast

    multicast Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    7

    Unicast --> One to One
    Multicast --> One to those who want to listen
    Broadcast ---> One to everybody


    Multicast is NOT the same as Broadcast. the amoutnt of broadcast traffic on a network is unlikely to have anything to do with if you are using Multicast or Unicast to carry your sACN data around.
     
  13. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,543
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    I might be wrong but the amount of traffic will just about always be lower and easier with multicast (with 1 proviso). Probably the major difference is if you have universes assigned but don't have a device that is actively receiving them. What occurs then is basically packets running around madly saying the equivalent of "pick me, pick me" and with all of the devices not wanting the data. With unicast if the data doesn't match the IP then it gets sent on the way.
    With multicast there are 2 types of switch/router. With IGMP snooping routers/switches they remember who wanted what universe data and they will filter off the excess that has no home. With non IGMP snooping routers/switches this is where lots of data can get sent that is excess to the requirements as they will send out data to all the devices to see if they have any interest in grabbing the packets.
    If you plan on using multicast, which is actually dead easy to use, then it's best to use an IGMP snooping router/switch.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    rvenegas

    rvenegas Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valencia
    Find Me On:

    Well explained AAH.
     
  15. smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    while my display use's the same network as all the household computers,
    Unicast is best for my setup.
    i have noticed that if the rasp pi is sending data to a unicast ip thats not there, there will be issues in stuttering.
    besides that i ran 50,000 channels last year nicely..
    an could still stream stuff to the tv sets without issues..

    i tryed multicast an basicly the whole house network fell over an died till i turned it off..

    i also have all my gear with set IP numbers, so it made things a no brainer to me..

    but everyone to there own setup realy
     

Share This Page