1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Uploading gif into Xlights

Discussion in 'xLights (Nutcracker)' started by KEVINM1960, Dec 11, 2017.

  1. KEVINM1960

    KEVINM1960 New Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Guys..I am wanting to put this moving image onto my megatree but when I upload into pictures and press play there is no image on my tree preview? My other sequences work ok. What am I doing wrong?
    ezgif.com-resize.gif
     
  2. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Kadina
    have you set the scaling to to suit the tree, grey box about half way down the picture effect settings.
    I have just copied it and can get it to appear but no movement as copied is just Jpeg.
    Hope this helps
    Cheers Boof63
     
  3. keithsw1111

    keithsw1111 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Kellyville, NSW
    Find Me On:
    The reason this happens is because our image library considers the GIF invalid.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    KEVINM1960

    KEVINM1960 New Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks guys for your replies...I got the gif from the Xlights library and have seen it moving on a mega tree on an uploaded video....are you saying this particular gif is in the wrong format or something keithw1111...if so can I change it in any way to make it work?
     
  5. keithsw1111

    keithsw1111 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Kellyville, NSW
    Find Me On:
    I don't know how to change it to make it work. I just know the library we use reports it as invalid.
     
  6. drakky

    drakky Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    63
  7. NewtoLightz

    NewtoLightz New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland, United State's
    I'm new to xlights and the whole thing but I was messing around in sequencing and added the image so I added a .gif and checked the the box loop and it worked. Some scaling and and all and it fit perfect
     
  8. djgra79

    djgra79 My name is Graham & I love flashing lights! Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Cranbourne West
    Find Me On:
    I use animated gifs fairly often just by downloading from the internet. As newtolightz said above, looping it and scaling to fit your model (tree, matrix etc) will need to be used no doubt.
     

Share This Page