VERY beginner, information for PSU for electrician

Samante

New elf
Hi everyone,

As stated, I am very new at all of this and live in a cyclone prone area of FNQ. I have been reading and watching videos about this for about 10 months. My first foray into pixels this year is going to be small - I have 400 5v lights, a DMX18 from Hanson Electronics and a MeanWell LRS-350-5 300W PSU. The issue I have is that the PSU came without a power cord, which I wasn't expecting. My husband has contacted an electrician to get it wired up, but apparently the electrician "has questions" and needs to talk to me about it.

I'm planning on storing my control box inside of my garage and having the props (two matrixes on columns and a shooting star) on the front facade of my house. There will be three strands at the moment to connect to the PSU and controller. Can anyone help me with any further information I may have to tell the electrician so that I can get my little baby system powered up?

Thank you so much! :)

Freman

Uh Oh Elf
Generous elf
Hi Samante,

It's very common for these power supplies to not come with flex installed. I'm not sure what questions your electrician might have but it's a relatively simple thing.

Does your meanwell come with a piece of plastic to cover the terminals?
How far is it from where you plan to store your controller and the lights?

You should probably have your power supply in an enclosure (or at least cover the terminals).
Beyond the electrical safety of the terminals on the meanwell, if the distance is too long from your controller to your pixels you might find the voltage drop on 5v is too much.

Samante

New elf
Hi Freman,