Very new

AndiK

Apprentice elf
Hi all, I've been following LOR (on Facebook) for sometime now, and now just found you guys... I'm very new... Just starting really at all if this, I've been putting up some lights around my house for a few years, but feel it's time to step it up... I'm wondering about controllers, and what people use and what's the easiest, and not too expensive, and a bit closer to home than LOR.. hope someone can steer me in the right direction. Thanks again, looking forward to Xmas time... Next year, by the time I get everything. [emoji6]

dale82

Senior elf
Hi AndiK,

Firstly Welcome to ACL, Secondly most of us buy our lights from China which is Cheap as (Pixels) Have you downloaded the 101 manual for a read? if Not I would do that. Also please don't feel overwhelmed by the option of DIY as I have no electrical background at all and I am a regular joe and I created a show.

Also jump into Chat as there is always people there that are willing to help.

Cheers
Dale

AndiK

Apprentice elf
Thanks. Yes I had a read of the 101.. and yes became overwhelmed ;) just not sure where to start, so many choices, and just looks so easy to just plug it all in to a LOR box... Than trying to figure out where to buy what and then how to out it together... But I'm open to help and suggestions. :)

dale82

Senior elf
I know exactly what you mean, One thing you do have to take into consideration is that the AC controllers (240V) are not meant to be switching on and off normal LED lights from Big W, Especially the ones with the little twinkle/flash box and button as they can cause a fire. There is soo much help on the forum and people that are willing to help and show you how things are done.

Where abouts in Vic do you live as there maybe someone nearby that you can go and have a look at the setup. don't let it overwhelm you, gee if I can do a display anyone can.

Cheers

AndiK

Apprentice elf
dale82 said: