1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Whole House Model Example

Discussion in 'xLights (Nutcracker)' started by Ɠαяєтн, Nov 9, 2014.

  1. Ɠαяєтн

    Ɠαяєтн Mae gen i C.L.A.P ei heintus iawn

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Landsdale, Perth, Western Australia
    I big thank you to Sean and the team. This is just a short example of the whole house model in action.


    https://vimeo.com/111323500
     
  2. ShellNZ

    ShellNZ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Karaka, Auckland, NZ
    Find Me On:
    Is that xlights running it or exported to LOR?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Ɠαяєтн

    Ɠαяєтн Mae gen i C.L.A.P ei heintus iawn

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Landsdale, Perth, Western Australia
    The video is xLights running, but just exported to LOR...oh, yeh!
     
  4. smeighan

    smeighan Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    4217 Greenfinch Dr CO 80126

    nice!


    since all the time is laying out a preview and dave has added tools to make that easier
    everyone could get a whole house model for this year.
    For example, i have not yet made a PREVIEW of my house, i will finish putting up lights in the next two weeks.
    I expect it to take just an hour or so and then i can create effects on the whole house.
     
  5. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    With that colour selection you should be running with Eiffel 65 - Blue (Da Ba Dee)
    Looks good.
     
  6. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kadina
    OK Have whole house model done on XL/Nc at work on computer there, how /what do I copy to take home and install/copy across onto home computer so I don't have to reinvent the wheel again please?
    cheers Boof63 :D
     
  7. starzen

    starzen New Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stuart, Florida
    Find Me On:
    Looks very nice. Hope you don't mind me asking a question re LOR and getting xlights over to LOR

    I currently have sequences in LOR and I want to add xlights data over to LOR

    whats the best way to get everything from xlights to LOR (data as well as channel configuration)

    thanks for any help

    Mike
     
  8. Habbosrus

    Habbosrus New house (again) 2017

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swansea, NSW
    Find Me On:

    Busy, eh??? ;)
     
  9. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kadina
    Lunchtimes :D :D :D :D :D :D

    Boof63
     
  10. smeighan

    smeighan Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    4217 Greenfinch Dr CO 80126

    If you just want effects for a single model , say butterfly effect on a megatree, yo do not need to import LOR data into xlights.
    Define some e1.31 channels in SETUP, create a model for the megatree, add effects to it, then "Model Export"as a lor clipboard file. *.lcb. Paste this where ever you have rgb channels in LOR.


    If you want to do a whole house model, without your LOR AC chjannels, again,
    define channels
    create all rgb models
    create effects
    export "Model Export"as lcb


    If you want your LOR AC channels to be included int the preview
    Convert LOR lms into xlights xseq
    create models for your AC lights in Nutcracker tab of xlights

    define channels
    create all rgb models
    create effects
    export "Model Export"as lcb


    Most people do NOT export back to LOR for performance reasons and speed
    they bring in current LOR sequence
    add rgb effects
    play show from xlights (This is why xlights was created in 2010 , to be a show player for non rgb lights from LOR)
     
  11. starzen

    starzen New Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stuart, Florida
    Find Me On:
    Sean

    thanks

    actually got that working today and had the mega tree running from LOR. This year I'd rather still run with lor. don't want to change too many things at once. for next year I will change my lor controllers to use DMX and then possibly switch.
     
  12. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kadina
    Hi sean how can copy xlight from one computer (whole house model etc) to another and take all the info created on one to another.
    cheers Boof63
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Ɠαяєтн

    Ɠαяєтн Mae gen i C.L.A.P ei heintus iawn

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Landsdale, Perth, Western Australia
    If you copy xlights_rgbeffects.xml and paste into your xLights show directory then you will have all models you created. If you also copy xlights_networks.xml you will also have any networks and channels you have created.


    Basically if you copy all .xml files from the xLights show directory you will have everything you need.


    DON'T FORGET, use the backup feature first before you copy anything.
     
  14. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kadina
    Thanks Gareth
    cheers Boof63 :D :D :D
     
  15. smeighan

    smeighan Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    4217 Greenfinch Dr CO 80126

    The easiest is to just zip up your show directory and move it to the other machine. This has the disadvantage of moving very large files (8.xseq). If you dont mind that, just move the one zip file and unzip.


    Now if you want to only move what is needed
    xlights_rgbeffects.xml : This contains all your models, effect presets, palette
    xlights_networks.xml: This is all the data from the SETUP tab
    xlights_schedule.xml: This contains playlist and schedules if you are using xlights to run your show
    xlights_papagayo.xml: This contains information about your singing faces.


    {sequences}.xml: All xml files, one eprsequence, has all the information from the NUTCRACKER grid


    Don't forget some other files you might need
    *.{gif,png,jpg} Image files used by the picture effect
    *.mp4 movie files that you sequenced the sound to a sequence. These are used along with the FPP to get movies to be synced to animated lights


    Files you dont need
    *.xseq. These are easily recreated by doing a save in the NUTCRACKER tab
    *.lms,*.vix: If you are moving to another computer will you do conversions there also.


    If you dont have images, then getting all the xml files will be enough.


    thanks
    sean
     

Share This Page