why not use 24v to power your lights

darylc

404 darylc not found
I did this at my old house for large parts of my display. The challenge I had was that my buck converters passed through the input voltage to output when they failed, and so 24v fried a huge amount of my 5v pixels and panels :/

David_AVD

Grandpa Elf
Community project designer
Generous elf
I've been doing this for a few years and had no issues.

You do need to use decent converters though. I use Mean Well for some of mine.

Skymaster

Crazy elf
Global moderator
Generous elf
I am in the process of making some simple crowbar circuits to to sit across the convertors I am testing. Basically if the output rises over 5.6V, it'll kill the input to the converter and blow a fuse.
Changing for 12V operation would be straightforward.
If I get something usable and cost-effective, I'll release the design.

Iain

Full time elf
I bought a bunch of 12-5V converters to do the same thing as I have 5V LEDs, 12V spots, and some very long runs… they claim to fail open but who’s to know?! I’m considering running 240v and regular power supplies in the garden but I’ll have to see how it all goes.

Kent

Apprentice elf
Generous elf
They are made by Camdenboss, part # CSACTT004.

I purchased mine October last year from Element14 at $12.69 each, however they no longer stock them.
Currently available from RS Components: https://au.rs-online.com/web/p/general-purpose-enclosures/1271065
Unfortunately they seem to now be pricey at $35.39 each.

I put a few magnets on the back and had them mostly mounted up under the eaves. The transparent lid was handy to fault find a blown fuse from the ground without needing to climb up a ladder.

Skymaster

Crazy elf
Global moderator
Generous elf
If I get something usable and cost-effective, I'll release the design.
This is cut #1 at the design. Testing has proven effective, once the output hits just under 6V, the fuse is intentionally blown and power is cut.