ws2811 what type/voltage are these

stooged

Pixelated
hello guys i am hoping someone can tell me what voltage these pixels are.

i am new to all of this and i purchased a secondhand setup from a guy at the start of the month, he had a fire in a matrix screen so i guess he was done with the hobby.
i got all of the pixels he used and i showed some to paul from lightitupleds and he said they looked like 5v pixels because they had no resistors or regulators on them and that could explain the fire.
i looked at the examples from some of the threads here that pointed to wiredwatts and indeed these pixels look like the 5v example but when i power a 10 node test string with 5v they barely work.
single colors red green blue will work but if i flick it to white i get nothing, if i up the voltage to 12v they work perfectly.

i have attached a picture of the 2 types i have.
the ones with the green pcb were in the matrix fire, i have built the merry christmas letters with these and they are running on my show at 12V with the occasional led having a faint red glow when powered but no data is being sent but they operate perfectly.

the ones with the blue pcb are in all of the props i purchased and they have been running on my show for 3 weeks at 12v.
both types have no resistors or regulators.

i purchased 4000 12v ray wu pixels off paul and they all have resistors and are also in my show in a matrix and icicles running at 12v along with everything else.

i am confused, the guy i purchased the kit from said everything is 12v but the pixels look like 5v, i even put the string of 10 on my shed floor and left them on solid at 100% white at 12v for about 6 hours and they were fine.

any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• pixels.jpg
    pixels.jpg
    259.1 KB · Views: 31

Mark_M

Annoying Elf
I think you have got some GC8208 12v pixels.