1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101
  1. klaus

    klaus New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to get some Pixel Strips working from Vixen off a PIX-AD8. For love of money I can't. My nodes are working but not the strips. The Controller software says they are WS2081 but the strips say SW2081. Is there a difference am I doing something wrong here. Cheers.
     
  2. JPB

    JPB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Glenwood
    Do you have your voltages correct? Nodes are more often than not 5v while strip could be 5v or 12v
    And is your pin out correct?
     
  3. marmalade

    marmalade cats & pixels

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    newcastle
    another easy mistake is transposing the clock and data lines on the 2801's. But agree with jpb, I've been bitten by the 5V/12V supply voltages once already.
     
  4. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    21
    Are you connecting to the correct end of the strip?

    Did you mean to write 2801? Note the position of the 8 and the 0.

    I have not heard of SW2081 pixels before so hopefully that's just an error on the label.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    klaus

    klaus New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    yep sorry just a typo.


    Yep it has 5V on the strip and I have the doubled check the strip to make sure it is connected on the in side.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    klaus

    klaus New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    The last pixel on the test strip is red. When I power the board up. Could it be something I am not doing in Vixen?
     
  7. Cologne LED

    Cologne LED Cologne LED

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    Are you connecting to the correct end of the strip?
     
  8. jeffrae

    jeffrae Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Linville
    Use this app to test your config Then you can work out if is a Vixen issue
    https://www.da-share.com/software/da_e131/
    follow the link then download app

    Also if you can not get the strip to work solder your data and clock lines to the next pixel You could have damaged the first pixel and when you connect power it can randomly set a pixel

    PS this was written by a member of ACL
     

Share This Page