Effect per model as pixel on a group of submodels?

perigalacticon

New elf
I have a snowflake and I made a sub model with 6 node ranges for the arms. I want to apply the twinkle effect to all of the submodels individually, as pixels. I was thinking you could probably do this like you do with models in a group, using "Per Model As Pixel" render style. But this doesn't work, no render style options do what I would like it to do. Is there a way to make this happen? I have many other models I like to apply this concept to, with more submodels and node ranges.

Gilrock

Full time elf
I'm a dev and I'd have to test it out to see how it works but as far as I recall there is no option for that. I don't believe "Per Model" goes down to the sub-models.

Cranzy

Full time elf
I am unsure of exactly the effect you want on the arms of this flake. If you apply the twinkle effect to the arms submodel and on the effect settings set Percent of Lights to 100 that would make each node have a twinkle. Can you describe how you want to twinkle to work on the flake?

Gilrock

Full time elf
I'm thinking he wants the entire submodel to twinkle like its one pixel so all pixels in the submodel would have the same brightness throughout the twinkle.

Cranzy

Full time elf
I'm thinking he wants the entire submodel to twinkle like its one pixel so all pixels in the submodel would have the same brightness throughout the twinkle.
I think then 'As Pixel' will work.

Gilrock

Full time elf
Yes if he puts the effect on every submodel. He was trying to put one effect on a group that made each submodel act that way. Pretty sure no option will do that but I won't bet money on it.

Srmorgan

Full time elf