GPIO Output Problems

Eric Steele

New elf
I am trying to use the Raspberry PI 3 B+, Vixen 3, and Falcon Player to control 12 strings of Christmas lights. The lights are standard 110v strings of lights. (this is my first year so I am starting with a simple display) I connected the GPIO outputs of the Raspberry Pi to solid state relays to power on/off the 110 volt light strings. Specifically I am using GPIO outputs 5,6,12,13,16,17, 22, 23,24,25, 26 and 27.

All my GPIO pins work. I ran a test program in Python and then tried them one at a time in Falcon using Channel Outputs/Other/Output Type:GPIO. I successfully tested the outputs individually using Vixen 3 and Falcon. That is, I tested each GPIO output individually by creating one “Single Item” item in the Display Setup and then only checking one GPIO as active in Falcon.

However, when I use two or more “Single Item”s in a sequence, all the relays are activated. I have tried both the Renard and Generic Serial controllers in Setup. I have a one to one patch relationship between the Elements and the Controller Outputs.

I am so close but yet so far to getting my light display to work. What the heck am I doing wrong?

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Welcome to ACL Eric.
Can you post the setup screenshots on Xlights and FPP. I have no idea when it comes to Vixen so I'll be no help with it but someone here probably could.
Assuming that you are trying to control from Xlights rather than running a sequence off FPP then Xlights should have the network setup as E1.31 and the IP either set as multicast or pointing to the Pi IP address.

Cee DeLights

New elf
Hi Eric,
Can you post the Vixen3 "Single Items" sequence.
I have mine setup almost exactly as yours and mine is working perfectly fine.

Hey eric (or anyone)

I am trying do the same thing but using xlights and i am getting the same outcome as you did. Was there a fix ? or any suggestions

TommyOrlando

New elf