Hello all .... new member here

Karlos

New elf
I'm new to the Christmas lighting scene. I'm a retired engineer with enough time on his hands now to take on projects like this.

My first project will be a simple low voltage set-up that will switch on/off maybe 30-40 12VDC pixie light LED strings. I want the light show sequenced to music of my choice. I'm thinking a sequencer such as xLights, generating fseq files to be run on a raspberry Pi with FPP. I hope I can use a simple relay board for the hardware controller, but not sure of the communication interface between the two. Do I need E1.31 or DMX protocols to communicate with the relay board, or can I just connect via the GPIO pins using I2C ?? Lots of head scratching at this point ... so I'm reading the forums. Any suggestions and help will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers to all,
Karlos

TerryK

Retired Elf
Welcome to ACL.

If you have not already, I would suggest downloading a copy of the ACL 101 manual. If will answer quite a few questions and help get you started. I'm just getting started as well.

I went with a small Falcon controller (F4V3), E1.31, and xLights. I have not played with xLights yet although I plan on running everything from a PC. The use of a rPi is also fairly common. I have a couple rPis but use them for other purposes. I'm sitting on the fence whether to use 5 or 12 volt LEDs. I have a string of each I'm still toying with.