Hello from New Zealand.

Kelvin Gordon

New elf
This Christmas will be my first display and I will be starting from scratch. I am an engineer, so props should not be an issue. Any help with controllers would be appreciated

Welcome along to ACL @Kelvin Gordon !
The Kiwi's are slowly taking over.

There is also the group xLights NZ on Facebook:

Controller is a tough one... short answer is this covid causing chip shortages.
Falcon controllers may come in stock if a batch gets made, I wouldn't hold your breath on one though. (Falcon does have a Warehouse in AU that ships to NZ).

Next controller option that's cheaper and more radially avaliable is a Pi cape or BBB cape.
Hanson Electronics in AU sells his own controllers and capes.

There's also cheap ESP32's ($20 from Surplustronics) and load W-LED onto them. That would be a good starter to play around with pixels.

Welcome along to ACL @Kelvin Gordon !
The Kiwi's are slowly taking over.

There is also the group xLights NZ on Facebook:

Controller is a tough one... short answer is this covid causing chip shortages.
Falcon controllers may come in stock if a batch gets made, I wouldn't hold your breath on one though. (Falcon does have a Warehouse in AU that ships to NZ).

Next controller option that's cheaper and more radially avaliable is a Pi cape or BBB cape.
Hanson Electronics in AU sells his own controllers and capes.

There's also cheap ESP32's ($20 from Surplustronics) and load W-LED onto them. That would be a good starter to play around with pixels.
Thanks for the reply. I have been looking at Advateks, The PixLite 16 Mk2 Control Board. It looks like it costs a bit to ship electronics to New Zealand so I might as well get something to future proof my setup. They tell me they will have stock in around mid Feb but wanted to get some feed back on them first.