Hi everyone from Sunny Sawtell, NSW!

brettmcdermid

New elf
Hi everyone,
I am looking for a new way to express my electronics expertise, and I thought what better way than to build a lovely christmas light display!
I am an electronics tech by trade, but also just finishing a degree in music, and about to start a mechatronic engineering degree.
I am looking at using the Falcon controllers with xLights to sequence to music, and finally transmit audio through an FM transmitter.
I was also interested in potential ways of synchronizing the light show to Ableton Live for potentially adding live music as well. Ableton Link is a feature within Live that can be used to synchronize multiple computers over a WiFi connection. I thought that this might potentially be a way to synchronize to a light show with a common metronome. Does anyone else have experience with this sort of thing? I'd be interested to hear from you.
Although, I have absolutely ZERO experience with xLights. It just seemed like a good option for creating the light show from the few YouTube videos that I have watched?
I look forward to talking with you all some more.
Kind regards,
Brett McDermid.

Mark_M

Annoying Elf
Welcome Brett McDermid; @brettmcdermid !
Read up on the ACL 101 manual. https://auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101 .

As I saw a comment on a newbie's Facebook post:
"Hope your single, rich, and have a full liquor cabinet."
Read up, study, study, plan and repeat.

xLights is easy to learn, just takes time for people to learn. It's a like a video editor over a timeline.
Falcon boards are too easy to use. I see you've already made a post in 2020 interest thread. They are good boards. Electronics behind wiring pixels and power will be a easy for you having done electrical tech.