LFP - Aussiephil Video 4 - Layout View and Matrices

AussiePhil

Dedicated elf
Administrator
Disclaimer: I am a newbie to Light Factory and to Cue based sequencing so anything i show you may be incorrect or a better way may exist.

Although i may have to remove the disclaimer shortly, it's starting to make real sense

Video Four:
In this video i'm looking at:

Layout View - one way to see what your lights are doing
Matrix setups and effects - further looking at some great effects that are easy to do.
Untitled on Vimeo

--------------------------------------

Looking at the terminology below a channel on a AC or DC controller board used for strings of lights would be considered a Conventional Fixture

A RGB String or RGB Pixel would be considered and intelligent fixture as you will set three DMX channels to get the required light.

Light Factory Personal comes with the basic RGB and dimmer fixtures enabled and this will cover a majority of any show.

Some Terminology direct from the User Guide:

Channels (Logical/desk channels or Fixtures)
A channel is a controller on a lighting console (eg, LightFactory) that is used for controlling dimmers.
In the case of a simple light with one dimmer, a single channel would control one dimmer. More sophisticated lighting fixtures, which utilise multiple dimmers to control various properties or attributes of the fixture (such as intensity, position, colour, etc), are controlled by a single channel, i.e., multiple dimmers are controlled by one channel.

Dimmers
In the simplest terms, a dimmer is a physical apparatus used for controlling the intensity of a basic light.
A dimmer can be fully on, fully off, or somewhere in-between. The setting of a dimmer is referred to as the DMX value. DMX values
range from zero to 255. A value of zero means the light is off, and 255 means the light is fully on.

Conventional fixtures