Lights question

AndiK

Apprentice elf
Hi all, I was wondering where everyone buys their lights?, and what type you tend to buy?, I'm new to this and am going to get a controller soon... before next x'mas anyway, and was thinking the best thing maybe just to get new lights, light RGB lights, etc... but then wondered where everyone got them from.
I can see some people have old shop bought ones, but what about new ones?

thanks again all. looking forward to seeing everyone show off their displays over the coming months!..

Andi

djgra79

My name is Graham & I love flashing lights!
Global moderator
Generous elf
Hi Andi.

Another seller from China is Ben Brown. He is often in the chat room so you can speak with him directly.
I've found him to be just as reliable, if not a little quicker to get back to you than Ray.

As for what type to buy, that's a bit of an open ended question. There are pros & cons for various lights for different situations. Personally I'm using WS2811 12v strip for roof and garage outline, and WS2811 5v pixel nodes for signs. There there's floods, ropelights, P10 panels.... the list goes on.

Perhaps have a look at some photos or videos in the gallery and see what you like and inquire further about what lights are used in those elements and go from there.

AndiK

Apprentice elf
Great thanks guys, i've been looking at all the pretty lights, I'll wait till our dollar gets a bit better... hopefully soon!.. or before x'mas 2016! anyway..
do you have a link to Ben Browns page at all djgra79?

Thanks again for all your help... everyone.

AndiK

Apprentice elf

i13

Dedicated elf