Network Problems with Mikrotik Router and Kulp K8

Papa Foxtrot

New elf
My old router was getting long in the tooth and I wanted better functionality and security(aka - no data harvesting), so I went with a Mikrotik router. A few bumps with the transition, but not too bad. Now I've run into something that I can't seem to solve. My K8-B has disappeared from the DHCP client list even though it shows an IP address on its little display that's in the correct range. For some reason, Mikrotik defaults to the 192.168.88.x range instead of 192.168.1.x range. The K8 will not respond to either its IP address or FPP in chrome and it doesn't show up on a network scan. I've restarted it a couple times to no avail. For some reason, the router didn't show a subnet mask in the settings, just /24 after the IP range - the field was blank. I put in 255.255.255.0 and it changed it to /24.

Everything else looks fine to me, but I'm not a network expert. I'm going to try restarting the router again(haven't tried that since changing the netmask), but any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Patrick

Last edited:

BAZMick

Full time elf
Generous elf
The /24 is short hand for 255.255.255.0
You probably have a static IP configured on the kulp, easiest way to get resolved would be to jump into a zoom room on the xlights forum or the chat here and ask for someone to help you through it step by step to change the kulps subnet from 192.168.1.x to 192.168.88.x if you're unable to change the new router's subnet

Papa Foxtrot

New elf
The K8 shows an IP in the correct range and 255.255.255.0 subnet. I'll try reinstalling FPP.

Derf

am now a 5v hypocrite
Fellow Mikrotik user here!

The 192.168.88.1 is the default IP for setup purposes when the router is on default settings. Can you provide your Mikrotik router model and a couple screen shots of your Winbox?