New to LED Display/Show

EduJime

New elf
Hello everyone,
This is my first time ever trying LED’s but my wife wanted them this year so I had to learn quickly in about a month.
Here are my current problems:
- 3 sections are flickering
- Sometimes 1 section gets stuck and won’t respond to my commands, have to unplug the power and star over.
- Just a window works with Xlights I’ll have to learn xLights for next year.

I’m using:
• 2 no brand 12v power supplies a 30Amps and a 50amps
• 20awg cables
• 3 QuinLED-Dig-Quad controllers
• 12v Pixel LED’s

39CE1115-974C-4A8A-9EAE-DC6DF9503AEA.png
12C9DAD5-3CDE-46B7-8C52-858B3F45AAC8.jpeg
E87DCFC5-8A31-4B1C-8CC8-00E9B90B2D4B.jpeg

Last edited:
Welcome to ACL.
The flickering can be a number of problems. It can be cables bundled up close together and getting interference from other cables in the bundle, the distance between controller or a pixel and the next pixel is too far a break in the ground/0V wiring.
Pixels latching on is quite often a symptom of low voltage at that point. It's generally towards the far end of the strings and will occur when there is a peak in the current caused by lots of lots in the string turned to high brightness at the same time. A simple fix for this is within xlights set the brightness for the prop to a reduced value like 70 or 80%. The better option is to provide some power injection or some heavier power cables.
First time I've seen those QuinLed controllers. They look a fairly nice option.

I researched the controller a bit. Rather odd I think that Ports 1 and 2 share a fuse as does 3 and 4. I'm curious as to the reasoning behind that design decision. The web information on the device also seems to place significance on 1 Oz vs. 2 Oz copper on the board. Board copper is not a subject that is typically discussed at the consumer level in my opinion.