Racing Lights for athletics running track, 40-50m. What are the correct questions to ask?

BoomerNation999

New elf
I am looking for answers, as well as questions to ask.

I am a complete beginner to this world. I have posted some on reddit threads, but have yet to find answers. I have watched YouTube series as well.

I am looking to create some racing lights, 40m-50m long for a running track. I am attempting to help a small track program with this project. Something similar, but a smaller scale to Wavelight. However, 20k is quite a bit more than we can afford.

I am hoping to help sprinters by utilizing chasing lights to keep and drive up pace. What is the simplest set up?

What kind of lights are going to be durable, or able to be moved often? I've watched the YouTube series, but understand the level of expertise that is available on these forums, and hoped to get a little guidance.

More details about the purpose of running/pacing lights in the news:

Indigogyre

Journeyman Elf
Generous elf
Hello, and welcome. I'm a complete beginner here but looked at the article and these things come to mind.
1. Is installation going to be permanent or not? (You hinted at being able to move things so semi permanent?)
2. Where is the power coming from? Is this only for a training facility with power or will you need batteries or a generator to run it.
3. Is the track strait or are there curves?
4. What spacing do you want between the pixels? (It looks like led strip which is fairly high density)
5. What sort of weather are they going to be used in?
6. How are you going to set the timing / pace?

The distance isn't much of an issue since it is only 50m or just under 170 feet. Bullet pixels or square pixels would be fairly durable and something that is reasonably priced.

As for mounting them to things there are many different ways to do it.
Perma track is something available in the US https://www.permatrack.us/shop/permatrack/