RPi-P28D+ controller outputs

Gerald

New elf
Hi all

I am having problems uploading items to the controller, I have 3 items in my display a GE singing tree with 217 pixels , a GE tripple star with 100 pixels and a mega tree with 800 pixels.

I have managed to upload both the singing tree and the star to one port via xlights ,and both play correctly, but it will not upload the mega tree to port No 2? I have tried setting the mega tree with 1 string of 800 pixels , but this does not work

Am I missing something here regarding settings etc? or will this unit not be able to do all of my display, I am hoping to get a larger controller at some point before christmas if world events alow! , but if not it would be good to get at least something going.

As i am very new to this new hobby any help would be most appreciated

Indigogyre

Journeyman Elf
Generous elf
Odds are it is not configured properly under the controller tab or something else is set incorrectly. The best suggestion would be to jump into the xLights zoom room so you can screen share and let them out you adjust things. Otherwise there will be a lot of going back and forth trying to ask questions and answering them.

Dean

Zuseleets

Full time elf
I think each port is only good for 500 pixels isnt it?
No you can have more apparently. The manual says up to 1600 pixels at 20fps or 800 at 40fps.

Page 6 of the manual read
" The rPi-28D+ has 2 WS281x (WS2811, WS2812, WS2813, INK1003 etc) that can have up to 1600
pixels controlled at 20fps or 800 at 40fps (note this number is for FPP4.x).
The channels used for the pixel outputs must be configured under the Pi Pixel Strings tab of the
Input/Output>Output Setup."

Skymaster

Crazy elf
Global moderator
Generous elf
No you can have more apparently. The manual says up to 1600 pixels at 20fps or 800 at 40fps.