Seed Pixel Matrix Ideas

Hey guys/ girls.

I've has a search and couldn't find many ideas; Seed are something I'm only new to and wish to add them to my display this year. are there any post/ ideas that have already done on a seed matrix?

Any help would be great.

Thankyou

I had one planned for the garage last year but ran out of time. Just started to put it together a few days ago, but it needs a bit of a rethink on tensioning the strings as in my case I'm aiming for horizonal so the garage door opens cleanly.

@darylc is working on a vertical seed matrix which won't suffer from this problem. Both of us are terminating the strings with 4p4c connectors and plugging them into custom PCBs.

Will post again once I get a chance to sort out the mounting.

Reactions: AAH
I had one planned for the garage last year but ran out of time. Just started to put it together a few days ago, but it needs a bit of a rethink on tensioning the strings as in my case I'm aiming for horizonal so the garage door opens cleanly.

@darylc is working on a vertical seed matrix which won't suffer from this problem. Both of us are terminating the strings with 4p4c connectors and plugging them into custom PCBs.

Will post again once I get a chance to sort out the mounting.
Thanks for the reply mate. looking good so far.. look foward to seeing the end result. Cheers

I’ve almost completed my seed matrix. It’s just over 12k seeds at 3cm spacing.

I’ve designed it so it can fix to the garage door and the garage door is still usable. I’ll be doing a detailed post about it once is ready in a few weeks.

Here is one of the full panels (5 full and one half panel in total)
1726139562323.jpeg

Looking good @Johnnyboy - it'll be nice and lightweight on the door.
Curious though - that butterfly effect is flipped horizonally from the default. Was that intentional, or is there a miswire or port/xLights configuration issue?

Looking good @Johnnyboy - it'll be nice and lightweight on the door.