square, bullet or strip

The Bald Boy

New elf
HI,
I'm new to this and really enjoy the site!! Lots of good information.
Just trying to work out which type of lights I should buy. I would like to make a flat tree - maybe 1200 wide at the bottom and 2000 high. I saw a version on here that had 12 stands of lights.
Is there an advantage over each type of light? I guess the strip would be easier to work with as you don't have to drill holes or use a bucket load of ties.
Do they all project the same amount of light?
Is there a standard amount of pixels that work best? I've seen lots of variations 10/m, 30/m etc. Not sure which way to go here either.
I will be going 12V if that helps.
Look forward to your thoughts :)

Troy ELD

Full time elf
Community project designer
Hi!

Strip is very easy to work with BUT very fragile and difficult to repair. I love strip for my house outlines but thats were it ends. The advantage of nodes is when 1 goes out(and it will happen) simply cut out the bad one and replace it. Strip Cut out the bad one replace it then rewaterproof the silicone tubing.

The sizing they are talking about is with strip, Every 3 LEDs (old school 2811) is a pixel were as with nodes each light is a pixel. So 30 LED/m would be 10 pixels P/M

Derf

am now a 5v hypocrite
Welcome!

Checkout the 101 Manual as there are tons of different types of pixels, strips, nodes, etc.

Depending on how much resolution you would like for your flat tree it may be a different route of pixel but normally members here use flat WS2811 Strip in silicon tube.
I suggest browsing one of the many popular suppliers a lot of us use on this web site Ray Wu for all the different type of LED lights you can purchase.
https://www.aliexpress.com/store/701799