3.x Vixen 3.1u2 loosing sequence

ando1961

New elf
Can someone please let me know why I loose everything in a timed sequence. I loaded a different profile but had all the same channels set-up and when I opened my sequence all of my hard work was lost. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get this back. I spent hours on the sequence and to loose it all is very disappointing. Any assistance appreciated. I have v3.1u2 vixen. I absolutley love the program but struggling with this one issue.

Les.

SKMoss

New elf
Les,

I'm still very new to Vixen, but I've started helping with some QA/Testing. So the below, may be inaccurate.

We are having a discussion among the Vixen 3 devs about the use of profiles. There's some questions about how users are specifically using them.

What are you expecting to happen when you change a profile. I'll forward that to the dev team.

Currently, based on that internal discussion, it looks like a profile works like a project and houses all the data. New profile would be like a new project.

Have you gone back to the old profile? Is the sequence there? If so, I think (and this is a bit of a guess) you can go to the hard drive and copy the data from one profile to another.

By the way 3.1u2 is a dev/test/beta type release. I think 3.06 is the current official release.

SKMoss

New elf
That makes sense. I remember reading somewhere in the mass quantity of other stuff, that 3.06 was the current release. Probably an older post, and I didn't realize.

ando1961

New elf
Steve,

Thanks for the rely and your suggestions. I am using the profile as a test bed for adding or removing strings and layouts.
I have a default profile that has my original sequence in it and I have played around with the setup several times and each time loosing the entire sequence.
So what I wanted to do was now that I have spent hours on the sequence, setup another profile and play with this one so I will not loose all my work.