12v ws2811

smeighan

Dedicated elf
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
1,109
Location
4217 Greenfinch Dr CO 80126
Do these lights
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/5m-led-digital-strip-DC12V-input-WS2811IC-256-scale-10pcs-IC-and-30pcs-5050-SMD-RGB/701799_568458133.html


have the ability to control each pixel? I see 30 pixels per meter and 10 ic's per meter. 5m means 150 Nodes (i call them pixels) and 450 leds.


Does it control then in groups of 3 or each pixel can be set to a different color from its neighbor. When they say pixels are they referring to nodes or leds?


It says the IC has "[SIZE=78%]10paths driver IC inside[/SIZE][SIZE=78%] to drive 10[/SIZE][SIZE=78%] pixels". [/SIZE]


thanks
sean
 

harrison0550

Full Time elf
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
190
Location
Chattanooga TN

gigogig

gigogig
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
169
Location
Prescott Valley, AZ
30 pece 5050 per meter and 10 pece ws2811, so each 2811 controls 3 5050 leds thart are the same color, so in one meter you can have 10 diffident colored pixels, but its the same brightnes as 30 ic per meter strips
 
G

GoofyGuy

Guest
My whole house was done in this strip, every 3 leds is one pixel.
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,644
Location
Albion Park NSW
This is the same strip i have used in my mega tree and is similar to the LOR CCR. My whole display uses this type of strip. I dont need the high resolution as from the street it looks great either way and the audience would never notice the difference. But its cheaper, uses 12vdc so less voltage drop issues and is far easie to manage on a channel basis
 

smeighan

Dedicated elf
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
1,109
Location
4217 Greenfinch Dr CO 80126
ɟɐsʇǝppʎ said:
This is the same strip i have used in my mega tree and is similar to the LOR CCR. My whole display uses this type of strip. I dont need the high resolution as from the street it looks great either way and the audience would never notice the difference. But its cheaper, uses 12vdc so less voltage drop issues and is far easie to manage on a channel basis

Thanks. so very individual pixels and 12v then 1809 is prob the only choice.


http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/4m-waterproof-LED-digital-strip-by-tube-DC12V-input-without-controller-10pcs-TM1809IC-m-30pcs-5050/701799_425556741.html


I also agree that 3 pixels together with 1.3" spacing means one color every 4" (10cm) prob looks just fine from the street.




Currently i have a 20x120 1809 megatree. It looked awesome. I may change out the 1809's and put in 20 12v ws2811, 5m flex strips. This would make my tree another meter higher.
I could reuse the 1809's in a matrix i will have that will show movies.


thanks
sean
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,644
Location
Albion Park NSW
smeighan said:
ɟɐsʇǝppʎ said:
This is the same strip i have used in my mega tree and is similar to the LOR CCR. My whole display uses this type of strip. I dont need the high resolution as from the street it looks great either way and the audience would never notice the difference. But its cheaper, uses 12vdc so less voltage drop issues and is far easie to manage on a channel basis

Thanks. so very individual pixels and 12v then 1809 is prob the only choice.


http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/4m-waterproof-LED-digital-strip-by-tube-DC12V-input-without-controller-10pcs-TM1809IC-m-30pcs-5050/701799_425556741.html


I also agree that 3 pixels together with 1.3" spacing means one color every 4" (10cm) prob looks just fine from the street.




Currently i have a 20x120 1809 megatree. It looked awesome. I may change out the 1809's and put in 20 12v ws2811, 5m flex strips. This would make my tree another meter higher.
I could reuse the 1809's in a matrix i will have that will show movies.


thanks
sean
Just be aware that these would follow the same theory as the strings with 12vdc vs 5vdc seen here http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,2595.0.html
 
Top