2 leaping arches daisy chain issue

raymondclow

New elf
First of all thank you if you are reading this post which i hope is in the right place, i looked around and wasn't sure where to ask for the help. I am using a Flacon f16v3, I just built 2 arches using a tutorial I found which turned out fine with the exception of one arch not lighting up at all. I am using ws2811 light strips which I cut in half to be able to make 2 arches. I am using one port on the falcon with a PSU just for the arches since i have other things running off the other PSU. I am stumped at after setting everything up only one arch lights up but the last 3 nodes are off...i checked voltage and its running through, the other arch that it's hooked up to wont light up at all....I am not sure if at this point it's wiring or setup at the falcon board? I am trying to troubleshoot but i want to know if anyone has had any issues with this before. This is my first time using pixel strips. thanks again for the help.

raymondclow

New elf
thanks for the reply. I did try them on test mode on the falcon and only one turns on....what i dont get is that the last 3 pixels are off but when i check for 12v at the end i could read 12v. There are 150 pixels on the strip.

uncledan

Senior elf
Generous elf
Using the test function on the F16v3? As @Snowy mentioned thats a good place to start. A link to the strip you're using and a screenshot of Falcon port configurations would be helpful. When I have issues with a prop. I replace it with another for testing purposes anyways. You could always swap the physical location of arch 1 and 2 and see if the problem is still there. If the last three LED's are off on arch one and nothing on arch two I would assume you have a bad pixel at that point. Strip is very fragile..

Last edited:

BAZMick

Full time elf
Generous elf
This strip is one node for each 3x leds pixels? Did you cut it in the right spot?

raymondclow

New elf