1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

2017 Layout and Plans

Discussion in 'How is my display put together...' started by wce06, Oct 30, 2017.

  1. wce06

    wce06 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canberra
    So I started this journey over 12 months ago and this year is my first display.

    With lots of help from this site I finally have a display, it is still small, but is working.

    I found the biggest help I received on this site was from others posting their layouts and displays. Attached is my design and please pick it to shreds, last thing I want to do is mess someone else around.

    I hope this might help someone...

    Happy Lights to all.....
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 30, 2017
  2. marmalade

    marmalade cats & pixels

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    newcastle
    good start. The only concern is the ground loops you've made and noise from both mains AC and the PSU's switching components making it onto the data lines.

    To minimise this, use shielded cable for the clk/data signals, with the shield connected on one end of the cable only (preferably controller side as it would be closer to the common ground point).

    Over short runs it probably won't make any difference but on longer ones it could create some issues. Many people do it this way though, so if it works fine then don't worry too much :)
     
    danv and wce06 like this.
  3. OP
    OP
    wce06

    wce06 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canberra
    Can you explain the GND loops issues that you see, as I am currently having a few issues with some of my lights flickering and also turning on as soon as i plug the cables in (no data being sent).

    I have read some threads and they say to remove the GND bewteen the PSU's
     
  4. scamper

    scamper Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    collie
    Find Me On:
    The flickering could just be a voltage issue, check the voltage at the lights it may be too low either because the supply is too low or the cable you are using is too small and you are getting a lot of voltage drop.
    The ground loop problem is not a big issue in this game, it would IMO be a last resort if you couldn't find a problem elsewhere.
    The earths are usually connected together to give a common earth otherwise you could get a weird voltage if 1 earth is floating above another, so keep them connected.
    When you apply voltage to pixels it is normal to come on blue until a signal is detected. It is not a problem and I have found it a good tool for testing if you are getting a data signal.
     
    marmalade likes this.
  5. OP
    OP
    wce06

    wce06 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canberra
    I discovered my problem, it was a small leak in one of my pigtails that let in some rain...
     
    Boof63 likes this.
  6. marmalade

    marmalade cats & pixels

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    newcastle
    agree with scamp that there are usually bigger probs hobbyists have to overcome than g/loops (moisture,terrible soldering, crappy connectors etc) :)
    But wouldn't fully dismiss it when doing long data runs coupled with small gauge wires carrying substantial current. It's actually industry standard to only ground drain wires on the source side, especially with low voltage remote instrumentation. One less thing to chase, and easy to implement.
     

Share This Page