240v Lights

Pircy

Full Time elf
Joined
Aug 23, 2010
Messages
166
Location
Clontarf (North of Brisbane)
As I have done static displays for the past 5 years I have built up quite a stock of 240v rope lights. Firstly, can I control these as part of a display? and if so is there a commercial solution to this (a controller of some type) - I don't want to muck around with 240v given my DIY knowledge is limited. I am running LSP, does this make any difference (i think not but best to ask) :D
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,384
Location
Eaglehawk
Hi Pircy
About the only off the shelf controller suitable for 240V lights is the light-o-rama AC range. There's info on them at http://auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/Controllers#Feature_Comparisons when you scroll down to AC controller comparison.
There's 240V lights and 240V lights by the way. If the lights don't have a transformer then they are true 240V lights. If they have a transformer then they are a low voltage light that can be run off a DC controller fairly easily.
As you are going to the Brissie mini in a few weeks you can earbash a few of the experts there in person.
 

mborg10

Michael Borg
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
1,446
Location
claremont meadows
Pircy, as many have done in the past, this is how we get into the hobby with "off the shelf" lights, because that's what we already have.
Lightorama is the easiest way to use what you already have. They have controllers which you can plug and play basically. However if you are already using lightshowpro it sounds as if you like what effects it can produce and pixels won't be too far in the future for you.

My first year I bought 240v LOR controllers because I wanted to use what I already had. 2nd year I sold all my 240v controllers and 240v lights and run purely pixels now.

What lights to use with what controller and what program is much like asking what's your favorite car. The brissy mini will be your best place to ask lots of questions and see some displays. Bring some of your different lights and someone will be able to explain the difference.

But don't buy anything just yet.
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,644
Location
Albion Park NSW
I reakon you may be able to pick up some cheap second hand LOR controllers from members here as I know many started with LOR and have now made the change to low voltage pixels
 

ShellNZ

Senior elf
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
875
Location
Karaka, Auckland, NZ
I have a 240v controller I would like to sell. Its brand new as LOR made a hiccup when I ordered my 240v controller a couple of years ago. They sent me the 110v controller. That has now been modified to work with 240v lights.

They sent me a brand new 240v board.

I posted here: http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php?topic=5481.msg47460#msg47460

You could purchase this one, put it in an enclosure and get help at the Brisbane mini to just add the RJ45 plugs to it, they'll all know how to do it.
 

Kaden

Pixels! I need more pixels!
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
Messages
724
Location
Gold Coast
ShellNZ said:
You could purchase this one, put it in an enclosure and get help at the Brisbane mini to just add the plugs to it, they'll all know how to do it.

I will be at the Bris mini and will be happy to tell you how.


I did a DIY with bunnings extension cords ($2 each) and a $10 Master's box this thread has pictures for reference.


Unfortunately I sold it so can't actually show you.
 

Pircy

Full Time elf
Joined
Aug 23, 2010
Messages
166
Location
Clontarf (North of Brisbane)
Wow, thanks to all for the replies to my question. AAH, there are no transformers on these rope lights so they are true 240v. Shell, I have a few questions about your controller 1. Can it be run with LSP. 2. Does it just plug into 240v power or do I need a specialised power supply. If all bodes well Kaden I will definately take you up on that offer of help.
 

Pircy

Full Time elf
Joined
Aug 23, 2010
Messages
166
Location
Clontarf (North of Brisbane)
Sorry Shell, I just re-read the info on the controller you have for sale whilst not watching the State of Origin game, and saw that it supports DMX so I assume LSP will drive this fine. Forgive my ignorance . . . I was kinda occupied!
 

ShellNZ

Senior elf
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
875
Location
Karaka, Auckland, NZ
Hi Pircy

1. Yes it can be run with LSP, Ive done it :) I just prefer LOR S3 software.
2. Yes you have 2 x 240v plugs coming off it, one to run each bank/side of the controller (Chans 1-8 and Chans 9-16)
3. Kaden may be able to help you add the RJ45 sockets to it and wire it all up too :)
 

ShellNZ

Senior elf
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
875
Location
Karaka, Auckland, NZ
What time do you fly out nzfellow? I am heading away on holiday at 1pm tmrw.

Im in Karaka/Papakura, 30sec off the motorway. Nearby at all?
 
Top