5v 2811 pixels not testing correctly on P12R

Ktag

Apprentice elf
Hi all, I am just starting out (again), and trying to get some understanding. I am testing the strip lights I have purchased via the standard test pattern within the ECG-P12R controller.

ECG-P12R
Setup for 12v one side and 5v the other.
12v power supply tested OK at 12v
5v power supply tested OK at 5v
Output to lights also checked OK 4.95v & 11.89v as appropriate

WS 2811 12v pixel strip testing OK.

WS 2811 5v pixel strip not testing well.
16 pixel length = the 5th & 9th pixel only light up and are Red.
Rest of 5m length = 6th pixel only lights up in red
These have been split to see if it made a differencee - obviously not.

Could someone point me in the right direction to correct or source the problem. Could it be that the 5v light strip is bad?

Thanks
Glenn

Gilrock

Full time elf
Maybe post a screenshot of the String Config page for the P12R. Did you enable all the outputs and define the chip type and speed?

dale82

Senior elf
Are you able to post your string config etc. also where abouts in qld are you as someone nearby might be able to help

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
So as I understand it that the strip goes through the pattern but you have a couple of lights within the string that are stuck on Red. if thats the case and the other lights are working or working upto the faulty light then this could point to a hardware issue
BUT
Are you sure you are connecting to the input and not the output of the string

Ktag

Apprentice elf
Thanks

I have attached screenshot of config as well as photo of controller & offending lights. The lights do not run any pattern they simply only light up red the 6th & 11th pixel (staying lit), all others never come on. (I said in my original post it was the 5th & 9th, so either I generalised or they changed... not sure which!)

All wires double checked and are attached as per board or strip labelling.

[attachimg=3]

Attachments

• IMG_1469.JPG