Advice on Electrics Please

BigKev

New elf
Hi All

I’m a complete newbie at this and no doubt this will be the first of many questions to come in my search for knowledge that will hopefully enable me to progress my thoughts to practical application.

Unfortunately the electrics are my weak (very weak) point as I know almost nothing about the theory of electricity so that is where I would like some initial advice.

I’ve tried to start at the beginning and get my head around the impact of a Christmas Light Display on my household power setup. Not so much the cost of usage but rather the hardware requirements, ie do I need the electric company to run 220,000 volt power line to my house so I can do this?

So I’ve made some broad assumptions as a starting point which whilst not completely accurate will at least give me a rough idea of what will be required power supply wise.

Anyway I’ve drawn up an initial design concept and calculated it will require 262 metres of LED string to light it up. Assuming a 5 volt DC system and the LED’s draw 0.3 watts each and are spaced at 10cm. That will give me 2,620 LEDs at a total of 157.2amps if my understanding of the ACL 101 Manual is correct.

I know that the next step will be to work out how many channels, controllers and DC power supplies, etc. I’ll need but as indicated I first want to understand what the primary power source will be/look like.

If I’ve got it right so far then I now need some guidance, please, as I don’t understand how the 5VDC current requirement (157.2amps) relates to the 240V primary power source. I know, in terms of 240V power, that you can’t draw 157.2amps from a 10amp wall socket but does the diagram at the bottom of page 41 in the ACL manual mean that 157.2amps at 5VDC represents a 3.275amp draw on the 240V primary power source.