Another Newbie from Perth!

Dewy6

New elf
Hey guys,

Finally dipping the toe in the pixel pool this year after mucking around with a variety of lights and displays over the years!

Have skimmed the intro guide quickly and will definitely be diving in there more. Hoping to start really simple, a few window outlines and some lights along the roof line and then maybe build out from there over the next few years.

Pretty confident in the wiring, lights, power etc side of things being a sparkie by trade but the programming and Xlights setup seems pretty daunting! 😬

Have got hold of a Falcon F16V4 controller and have some 12V pixels, pixel strip and some pigtails on the way. I have access to cheap Meanwell Power supplies through work.

Really enjoying looking through the forum and looking forward to everyone’s progress in the ramp up to Xmas!

Jas0r

New elf
Hi @Dewy6

Welcome to the addiction. I was in your spot 3 years ago with a F16V3 and a couple of runs on the walls. Im now hooked and its grown every year. There is a good bunch of Perth people on here if you need anything

Skymaster

Crazy elf
Global moderator
Generous elf
Welcome to ACL @Dewy6

Sounds like you're already getting your head into the good stuff; house outlines are a really good place to start, and easy to get looking fantastic.
If you get stuck with anything, there's always someone in the chatroom, even at crazy hours with some of our US friends online.
Everyone is more than happy to help make your lights blink!

Cranzy

Full time elf
Welcome :)
In which part of Perth are you?
I know it is a bit short notice but a bunch of us blinky addicts are going for lunch this Wednesday (20 Sept) in the city if you are keen to join?

scamper

Dedicated elf
It may seem daunting, and at some level it is.