Bluzers E1.31 - LOR Network Diagram

bluzervic

65,768 Channels, 185 Universes
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
533
Location
Fremont, Calif.
Thought I would share this Diagram of my current E1.31 Network, which includes Controllers which will soon be used to retire my incandescent lights

This can also be used to show how to set up a network with E1.31 and also keep Legacy LOR controllers.
I used a Cisco switch but any switch can be used.

-Blu
 

BundyRoy

Dedicated elf
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
1,026
Blu, thanks for sharing. Shows me what can be done and what is required to do it. When it says cat 5 cable with LOR crossover, is that just a normal cat 5 cable with the wires crossed over. Can you buy these or do you have to cut a normal cat 5 cable and rejoin the wires to make the cross over. Is there more than one type of crossover cable or is it always the same wires that are crossed over.
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
BundyRoy said:
Blu, thanks for sharing. Shows me what can be done and what is required to do it. When it says cat 5 cable with LOR crossover, is that just a normal cat 5 cable with the wires crossed over. Can you buy these or do you have to cut a normal cat 5 cable and rejoin the wires to make the cross over. Is there more than one type of crossover cable or is it always the same wires that are crossed over.
If your interested about LOR in DMX and cross over cables then this preso will help http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php?topic=1139.msg9601#msg9601
 

bluzervic

65,768 Channels, 185 Universes
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
533
Location
Fremont, Calif.
You can make your own LOR to DMX X-overs or you can buy them. I played around with some store bought ones that had no ground, just TX and RX where swapped. I did not have best results with the missing Ground.

I also found some store bought cables that swapped TX, RX and Ground that had no issues.
See the link Below if you want to go that route.

Finally, the best was to make my own, but it is not easy and you need all the tools.

Here are some links to help you out

Store Bought (US) working LOR to DMX cables

http://www.seasonalentertainmentllc.com/store/en/adapters/107-lor-dmx-adapter.html

http://store.creativelightingdisplays.com/LOR-DMX-Cat5-Cross-Over-Cable-LOR-DMX-CROSS.htm


to make your own

Crimper
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007E6J8J2/ref=asc_df_B007E6J8J23181618?smid=A1A8NPKC95G06Z&tag=pgmp-822-97-20&linkCode=df0&creative=395109&creativeASIN=B007E6J8J2

Cat 5E/Cat 6 RJ45 Modular Plugs
http://www.amazon.com/100-Cat6-Cat5E-Crimp-Connectors/dp/B003M5BIII/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1402815271&sr=1-3&keywords=rj45+modular+plug

These extensions come in handy
http://www.amazon.com/Britta-Products-271710-Coupler-Straight/dp/B000BSLW8U/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1402815414&sr=1-1&keywords=rj45+extension

Of Coarse you need cable

http://www.amazon.com/Cat5e-Ethernet-Cable-500ft-Cat-5e/dp/B0092THNDW/ref=sr_1_6?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1402815501&sr=1-6&keywords=cat+5+cable

-Blu
 

RiverBendLights

Apprentice elf
Joined
Oct 21, 2014
Messages
50
bluzervic said:
[attachimg=2]
Hi i know that this topic is a little old but i have been searching for a way to use the LOR controller that you have with E1.31 i have two daisy chained controllers (hoping to add 2 more)that i would like to control over E1.31 ip with my router to my pc. i saw the DIYLEDECPRESS 6 port E1.31 bridge and was going to use that but then i saw your fantastic diagram and saw that you used a J1sys D4 DMX bridge, what is the difference? is one just a 6 port and another a 4 port can i use either for my CTB16PC lor controllers. also can i make lor cross over cables with standard cat 5? and last question can i use the DMX bridge with E1.31 over ip by just connecting to my network
 

bluzervic

65,768 Channels, 185 Universes
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
533
Location
Fremont, Calif.
I actually use both of those controllers as I have a lot of LOR stuff to control
they are both good devices.


You will need a LOR/DMX Crossover cable as also mentioned in this thread. I posted up a couple links.
You can make your own but it is easier to just buy them in my own opinion. Yes you would use Cat 5 cable to make them.


I recommend a separate Ethernet card for your PC if possible. That way you keep E1.31 stuff Isolated.
Try to use Unicast as well


Finally, jump into chat... a lot of us can help you there


-Blu
 
Top