CCR substitute

DanoNJ

Full time elf
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
170
Location
Monroe Twp., NJ
What would be a good product to use instead of a CCR? I'm looking, like all, to save some dollars here, so thought I'd post up and see what comes about.

I've read, but to be honest, at the time, I had no interest and lost most of the info.
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
There are a few options which vary depending on price, quality, colour depth and chip used, These should all be able to run off the TP3244, the E680 and the newly announced ECG-PIXAD8/4

The digital strip

6803 IC 5bit strip $69.47 per 5 metre strip - http://www.aliexpress.com/fm-store/701799/209843764-306378431/LED-Digital-strip-with-WS6803-IC-30pcs-5050-SMD-per-meter-DC12V-input-with-silicon-tubing.html

WS2801 IC 8bit strip $101.50 per 5 metre strip - http://www.aliexpress.com/fm-store/701799/209843764-332260355/5m-roll-led-digital-flexible-strip-with-controller-WS2801-IC-256-scale-8-bit-36pcs-5050.html

1809 IC 8 bit strip $53.00 per 4 metres - http://www.aliexpress.com/fm-store/701799/209889132-425556741/4m-waterproof-LED-digital-strip-by-tube-DC12V-input-without-controller-10pcs-TM1809IC-m-30pcs-5050.html (im not 100% sure if the 1804 IC is similar to data as the 1809 IC but this is the same strip that is being promoted over at DLA)

The controllers

ECG-PIXAD8/4 - E1.31 to pixel controller - http://forums.auschristmaslighting.com/index.php?topic=909.new;topicseen#new

E680 - E1.31 to pixel controller - http://www.sandevices.com/e680.html

There are other controllers like the TP3244 which run in DMX that will support all these chips but currently im unsure of availability
There are also other controllers that will support one or 2 of the above mentioned IC chips, but ive kept this thread to controllers that will support all 3 IC chips.

The E1.31 controllers do not require a dongle as these connect directly up to your RJ45 network, compared to the CCR controller these will run multiple strips at full resolution per controller and also run multiple types of strips, strings and modules at both 5vdc and 12vdc at the same time.
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
dmoore said:
I'd resist the urge to purchase the cheaper 6803 pixel stip - go the 2801 or 1804 route.
DM had some bad strips with the 6803, me on the other hand didnt have any issues. But then was that luck or not. Remember the 6803 is the cheapest of the lot for 5 metres so it may suffer from some quality issues.
 

JonB256

Full time elf
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
123
Location
Granbury, Texas
It seems logical/obvious, but I have to ask -

On the WS2801 strips, when it says "36 pcs" can I assume that means 36 "pixels" and therefore 108 channels out of the Universe?

I still have two TP3244's sitting without power cords attached (and the SMD resistors unchanged) and am looking toward summer activities.
 

SmartAlecLights

Im a SmartAlec what can i say!
Community project designer
Joined
May 4, 2010
Messages
1,291
Location
Murray Bridge, S.A.
JonB256 said:
It seems logical/obvious, but I have to ask -

On the WS2801 strips, when it says "36 pcs" can I assume that means 36 "pixels" and therefore 108 channels out of the Universe?

I still have two TP3244's sitting without power cords attached (and the SMD resistors unchanged) and am looking toward summer activities.
You might want to check out this link
http://forums.auschristmaslighting.com/index.php/topic,913.msg7341.html#msg7341
Ive allready been asking the questions, the answers might help you out
 

JonB256

Full time elf
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
123
Location
Granbury, Texas
Thanks - that did force me see to see the "36pcs 5050 RGB leds/m"

I wasn't seeing the "meter" designation. So, it becomes 12 "pixels" per meter. That is a much better number, making each pixel about 3.25" long.
 
Top